Follow Us on Twitter

Cymbals Eat Guitars - Why There Are Mountains

Cymbals Eat Guitars, Why There Are No Mountains

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2.5 out of 5

CYMBALS Eat Guitars can lay claim to having played one of the hottest and loudest gigs ever at the Windmill in Brixton. Listening to their debut album, it’s not hard to hear why – although you may be hard of hearing afterwards!

Why There Are Mountains revels in its moments of explosion. It’s the type of LP where easygoing, radio friendly indie melodies suddenly give way to sudden blasts of distortion and wailing. But while they’re clearly having fun, we didn’t.

Hence, Cymbals Eat Guitars are a frustrating band. When keeping things reigned in and indie-pop with a liberal sprinkling of post-punk, they can compare quite favourably with acts such as Modest Mouse.

But the reckless abandon with which they let rip tends to get on your nerves and does the band or the album few favours.

Songs like …And The Hazy Sea and Some Trees (Merrit Moon) have their moments when the guitars are crisp, the choruses are tight and the melodies are golden… but whenever they unleash their pent-up energy, they tend to become a turn-off.

Elsewhere, tracks like Indiana begin in a haze before then adding a horn flourish and some gutsy guitar work, and generally endear, while Cold Spring is a lush, laidback offering that really does beg comparisons with Modest Mouse in a good way.

But all too often the album veers off course amid static overloads, hazy interludes and too much distorted noise, with the final moments of Like Blood Does particularly headache inducing.

Cymbals Eat Guitars have talent… they just need to reign themselves in. Why There Are Mountains only works in small doses.

Download picks: Indiana, Cold Spring, Wind Phoenix

Track listing:

  1. And The Hazy Sea
  2. Some Trees (Merrit Moon)
  3. Indiana
  4. Cold Spring
  5. Share
  6. What Dogs See
  7. Wind Phoenix (Proper Name)
  8. Living North
  9. Like Blood Does