Follow Us on Twitter

Daft Punk - Musique Volume 1: 1993 - 2005

Daft Punk, Musique

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

DAFT Punk are rightly hailed as dance pioneers. They flew in the face of pop stardom by erasing any humanity from their releases, scrubbing out their faces in order to maintain the focus on their art.

Hence, this collection of greatest hits spanning 1993 to 2005 is a musical tour de force through some seminal tunes, ranging from Da Funk and Around The World to most recent hits Robot Rock and Technologic.

The influences are fast and furious, yet the sound distinct and vibrant. Everyone from Jean Michel-Jarre, ELO, Gary Numan and Prince is referenced, while the music hails from the dancefloors of Europe to the minimalist techno of Detroit and old-school Chicago house.

Daft Punk are, of course, French duo Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo. Most of their albums are rightly considered modern classics, from 1997’s Homework to 2001’s Discovery.

Their brilliance lies in their ability to surprise and innovate. Their sound is deeply electronic, computer-based even, while their vocals are often robotic and vocoder driven (Harder Better Faster Stronger being a prime example).

Yet for every mechanically-charged upbeat overload, there’s also a staggering beauty to some of their sounds that makes tracks like One More Time and Something About Us resonate so strongly.

Not content with diversifying and experimenting in terms of sound, Daft Punk also tend to go all out visually. Hence, this retrospective comes in a limited edition release that includes some of their pioneering video work.

The duo most notably enlisted some young maverick producers to interpret their work visually and the first brilliant young quartet consisted of Michel (Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind) Gondry, Spike (Being John Malkovich) Jonze, Seb Janiak and Roman Coppola.

Of late, they have chartered darker territory, going as far as Japan to enlist a Manga maestro on their Interstella 5555 film.

The only real disappointment on the CD is the notable exclusion of Aerodynamic, which I found staggering. It is easily one of their most seminal works and its omission is jaw-droppingly disappointing.

That said, you can’t have everything all of the time and there’s plenty here to impress, entertain and stay cool and hip with.

Track listing:

  1. Musique
  2. Da Funk
  3. Around The World (Radio Edit)
  4. Revolution 909
  5. Alive
  6. Rollin’ & Scratchin’
  7. One More Time (Short Radio Edit)
  8. Harder Better Faster Stronger
  9. Something About Us
  10. Robot Rock
  11. Technologic (Radio Edit)
  12. Human After All
  13. Mothership Reconnection (Feat Parliament/Funkadelic) (Daft Punk Remix)
  14. Ian Pooley – Chord Memory (Daft Punk Remix)
  15. Gabrielle – Forget About The World (Daft Punk: Don’t Forget The World’ Mix)