Follow Us on Twitter

David Bowie and Arctic Monkeys on Mercury music prize shortlist (2013)

David Bowie, The Next Day

Story by Jack Foley

DAVID Bowie’s surprise comeback album The Next Day and Arctic Monkeys’ newly released fifth LP AM head the nominees for this year’s Barclaycard Mercury music prize (2013).

The shortlist, unveiled on Wednesday (September 11), was notable for including mostly traditional guitar music as opposed to dance music, which many industry people now claim to be the dominant force in UK music.

Disclosure and Rudimental were the only two completely dance-orientated acts on the 12-strong list, while electronica artist James Blake is also included.

Otherwise, it’s albums from Jake Bugg, Foals, Savages, Laura Marling and Villagers that standout on the list, along with music from Laura Mvula and Jon Hopkins.

Unveiling this year’s shortlist, Simon Frith, who has chaired the judging panel since the award was launched in 1992, commented: “This year’s Barclaycard Mercury prize shortlist celebrates a fascinating year for British and Irish music, marked by a wonderful range of musical voices – urgent, reflective, upbeat and tender, acoustic and electronic, and all with something intriguing to say.”

Notable by their absence, meanwhile, were commercial hit albums from the likes of Mumford & Sons and Bastille, both of whom had been strongly tipped to feature.

The 12 acts will compete for the £20,000 prize, which will be announced on October 30 in London.

Last year, indie rock band and early favourites Alt-J picked up the top prize for their debut album An Awesome Wave.

The full list of nominees for the 2013 Mercury Music Prize is as follows…

Arctic Monkeys – AM

Read our review

David Bowie – The Next Day

Read our review

Disclosure – Settle

Foals – Holy Fire

Jake Bugg – Jake Bugg

Read our review

James Blake – Overgrown

Jon Hopkins – Immunity

Laura Marling – Once I Was an Eagle

Read our review

Laura Mvula – Sing to the Moon

Rudimental – Home

Read our review

Savages – Silence Yourself

Villagers – Awayland