Follow Us on Twitter

Depeche Mode - The Best Of Volume 1

Depeche Mode, The Best Of Volume 1

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THEY may have had their ups and downs but Depeche Mode continue to produce music of the highest quality – and of a very distinct nature.

The winning combination of Dave Gahan’s powerhouse vocals and the dark instrumentation has given rise to some genuinely classic singles – many of which have become etched into our subconscious from an early age.

Tracks like Personal Jesus and Enjoy The Silence retain a timeless quality reserved for only the very best bands. They invoke a wonderful sense of nostalgia while continuing to sound as fresh and exciting as the day you first heard them.

This greatest hits collection The Best of: Volume One contains many moments to savour and, particularly in CD/DVD mode, capably takes the listener on a fantastic musical journey – all of which has been beautifully remastered.

Sure, there’s a cheesily nostalgic glow surrounding early hits such as People Are People and Just Can’t Get Enough and some surprise choices (New Life, anyone?).

But once the band discovered its dark side there really is no looking back, as exemplified by striking records such as Personal Jesus, I Feel You and Walking In My Shoes.

The tracks from The Songs of Faith & Devotion era possibly rate as the best of their career and contain a really distinct sound. It’s just a shame that In Your Room and Condemnation don’t make it onto this best of collection.

But I guess it’s a tribute to the vastness of the band’s back catalogue that there isn’t room for every single.

Hence, the radio-friendly It’s No Good is included at the expense of the slightly harder Barrel Of A Gun from the Ultra LP and there’s no room for the excellent John The Revelator from the most recent Playing The Angel album.

Ardent fans will just have to buy the aforementioned 2-disc CD and DVD release to get the best of both worlds, seeing as the DVD includes a lot of the tracks not featured on the single disc CD version.

The most striking thing about this best of, though, is the fact that almost everyone is bound to be able to pick a favourite, such is the durability and widespread appeal of the band.

For in tracks like Enjoy The Silence they have that rare ability to appeal to almost every genre of music.

Let’s just hope that the next few years continue to be as productive for Gahan and co so that we can look forward to an equally thrilling Volume 2.

Track listing:

  1. Personal Jesus
  2. Just Can’t Get Enough
  3. Everything Counts
  4. Enjoy The Silence
  5. Shake The Disease
  6. See You
  7. It’s No Good
  8. Strangelove
  9. Suffer Well
  10. Dream On
  11. People Are People
  12. Martyr
  13. Walking In My Shoes
  14. I Feel You
  15. Precious
  16. Master And Servant
  17. New Life
  18. Never Let Me Down Again

Disc Two – DVD

  1. Just Can’t Get Enough
  2. Everything Counts
  3. People Are People
  4. Master And Servant
  5. Shake The Disease
  6. Stripped
  7. A Question Of Time
  8. Strangelove
  9. Never Let Me Down Again
  10. Behind The Wheel
  11. Personal Jesus
  12. Enjoy The Silence
  13. I Feel You
  14. Walking In My Shoes
  15. In Your Room
  16. Barrel Of A Gun
  17. It’s No Good
  18. Only When I Lose Myself
  19. Dream On
  20. I Feel Loved
  21. Enjoy The Silence 04
  22. Precious
  23. Suffer Well
  24. The Best Of Depeche Mode [Short Film]