Follow Us on Twitter

Doris Day - My Heart

Doris Day, My Heart

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

DORIS Day fans are in for a real treat with My Heart, the singer’s first studio album of new material in 17 years.

Comprised of a dozen songs, including nine new recordings produced by Day’s late son, Terry Melcher, the album is steeped in traditional values and sounds like it could have be an unearthed collection of recordings from her prime.

But they’re all fresh and deeply personal. Terry Melcher – who was known as a songwriter and producer for folk-rock pioneers The Byrds (Mr. Tambourine Man) – co-wrote four of the new songs with Beach Boys member Bruce Johnston: the emotional title track My Heart, the romantic The Way I Dreamed It, the haunting Happy Endings – sung by Melcher with a newly recorded spoken-word introduction by Day for her fans – and the catchy new Doris Day single release Heaven Tonight.

Also on the set list are three classic rock-era favorites: Joe Cocker’s beautiful ballad You Are So Beautiful, the Lovin’ Spoonful’s joyful 1966 hit Daydream’ and The Beach Boys’ nostalgic Disney Girls, the latter written by Bruce Johnston, who co-produced three of the recordings on Day’s My Heart album.

Highlights come in the form of Ohio (from the Broadway show Wonderful Town), the jazzy Daydream, the breezy Karen Carpenter-esque Heaven Tonight, the cinematic Life Is Just A Bowl of Cherries(an American classic by British songwriter Guy Wood which Doris performs in a peerless jazz setting with the Andre Previn Trio) and the whistle-strewn Disney Girls.

It’s the sort of new recording that demands the appreciative phrase: “They don’t sing them like they used to.” Thanks to Day’s return, now they do.

Download picks: Ohio, Daydream, Heaven Tonight, Life Is Just A Bowl of Cherries, Disney Girls

Track listing:

  1. Hurry, It’s Lovely Up Here
  2. Daydream
  3. The Way I Dreamed It
  4. Heaven Tonight
  5. My One & Only Love
  6. My Heart
  7. You Are So Beautiful
  8. Life Is Just A Bowl of Cherries
  9. Disney Girls
  10. My Buddy
  11. Happy Endings (Terry Melcher with introduction by Doris Day)
  12. Ohio