Follow Us on Twitter

Dot Allison returns with astonishing EP

Dot Allison

Feature by Jack Foley

DOT Allison returns with a new band, a new sound and a new EP featuring three new songs.

Beneath The Ivy represents a new maturity in Dot’s songwriting, featuring a more acoustic stripped down sound, which Andy Weatherall has compared to sounding like “The Velvets meet Emmylou Harris”.

The singer’s ethereal vocals weave in and out of intricate acoustic guitar, violin and banjo backings as provided by fellow musicians, Chris Rotter on guitar (ex-Two Lone Swordsmen), Ian Button 6 and 12-string acoustic guitar (ex-Death In Vegas) and Lucy Wilkins, violin and vocals (Massive Attack).

Dot was the voice of Glasgow’s innovative One Dove and their Weatherall-produced Morning Dove White album in 1993 was released to great acclaim from all sections of the press, TV and radio.

After One Dove split, Dot released her debut solo album, Afterglow for Heavenly Records in 1999, hailed as Record Of The Week in the New York Tines.

After the release of her second solo album (2002’s We Are Science) Dot was a featured guest on two world tours with Massive Attack and co-headlined with Pete Doherty on his Bilo Albion acoustic tour. She later joined Babyshambles for their Stone Me What A Life tour in 2004.

Following these tours and collaborations, Dot crafted these three new songs.

Beneath The Ivy is a snapshot of an artist having found her own place – of a poet and a songwriter with a unique and mesmerising voice.

It is released through Universal Digital on August 28. Future gigs will be announced shortly.

Dot is presently completing work on a new full-length release with
producer Kramer (Galaxie 500, Low, Daniel Johnston).

Read our review of the single