Follow Us on Twitter

Doves confirm new album and tour dates (2009)


Story by Jack Foley

DOVES will release their eagerly anticipated fourth studio album, Kingdom of Rust, on April 6, 2009, which is to be preceded by the single Kingdom Of Rust, on March 30, both on Heavenly Recordings.

It’s been a long time between drinks for Doves, four years in fact since their last broadcast Some Cities flew to the top of the charts. Some feared they had flown the nest permanently.

Thankfully, that was never going to be the case, and now they’re back to attest all the fans, writers, DJs and pundits that have been restlessly awaiting new material since February 2005.

In making their comenack with Kingdom of Rust, Doves have teamed up with long time collaborator Dan Austin to co-produce all but two tracks. For those remaining two, Doves worked with ace producer John Leckie (Stone Roses, Radiohead) to record 10.03 and Winter Hill.

Furthermore, to herald this announcement, not to mention the return of one of the UK’s most loved bands, Doves are giving away an exclusive track from Kingdom of Rust available to download now from for a two week period.

That track is Jetstream, a stomping Doves classic in waiting. Fitted with a propulsive krautrock motorik, it inherits the bands dance DNA from their former Sub Sub extraction.

The track listing for Kingdom of Rust is as follows…

1. Jetstream
2. Kingdom of Rust
3. The Outsiders
4. Winter Hill
5. 10.03
6. The Greatest Denier
7. Birds Flew Backwards
8. Spellbound
9. Compulsion
10. House Of Mirrors
11. Lifelines

In addition, Doves are embarking a on a tour of intimate venues across the UK. Tickets are sure to sell out almost instantly, so act fast for a chance to see Doves up close for the first time in nearly four years.

The tour dates are (all March 2009):

12 – Parr Hall, Warrington
13 – Empire, Middlesbrough
15 – ABC, Glasgow
17 – Kasbah, Coventry
18 – Pyramid Centre, Portsmouth
19 – Forum, Kentish Town London

Tickets go on sale on January 30.