Follow Us on Twitter

Dub Pistols – Worshipping The Dollar (Review)

Dub Pistols, Worshipping The Dollar

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

THE fifth album from Dub Pistols combines more astute lyricism with a pacy sound designed to get people dancing as well as a variety of guest vocals. It’s probably their most accessible collection of songs to date.

Admittedly, some of the sound becomes a bit repetitive given the reliance on dub, and there is a more urban vibe to a lot of the songs that can be polarising. But when they get things right, there is wide appeal to be found.

Album opener Alive, for instance, gets things rolling in celebratory fashion, emerging as a big summer dance anthem in waiting that kicks off amid waves of brass before hitting you with a rallying call (“people of the north, people of the south… shout it out”) and making the most of reggae legend Red Star Lion’s gritty vocals. It’s dub meets reggae and it’s effortlessly toe-tapping.

Later on, there’s an element of drum ‘n’ bass layered in to the bonkers Mucky Weekend, during which Rodney P makes the first of several guest appearances. It’s suitably debauched, too, to provide an accompaniment to countless summer party nights.

Bang Bang offers witty word-play (“so much shit that we don’t say when we’re talking shit”) with a vibe that The Specials (circa Ghost Town) would be proud of, complete with playfully purring vocals from Kitten & The Hip.

And New Skank combines a kick-ass hip-hop beat with some funky brass routines that really get those hips shaking. TK Lawrence and Dan Bowskill provide the vocals for this one and the vibe is not dissimilar to classic Gorillaz.

Further highlights come in the form of the big beat Countermeasure, which also leans heavily towards old-skool hip-hop and provides one of the funkiest cuts on the LP, and album closer Give A Little Dub, which rounds things off in more laidback, morning after style.

If tracks like Gunshot and Rock Steady perhaps base themselves a little too heavily around the tried and tested formula of having the brass lead into more dub, drum ‘n’ bass or reggae beats, then the lyrics still usually contain something interesting.

Hence, even when not at its best Worshipping The Dollar is always worth hearing. And when it does deliver those feel-good anthems, it can often be really good fun.

Download picks: Alive, Bang Bang, New Skank, Countermeasure, Give A Little Dub

Track listing:

  1. Alive
  2. West End Story
  3. Mucky Weekend
  4. Bang Bang
  5. Rub A Dub
  6. New Skank
  7. Rock Steady
  8. Countermeasure
  9. Gunshot
  10. Bad Card
  11. Give A Little Dub