Follow Us on Twitter

Eight Legs - The Electric Kool-Aid Cuckoo Nest

Eight Legs, The Electric Kool-Aid Cuckoo Nest

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2.5 out of 5

IT’S always disappointing when an album promises more than it delivers.

Eight Legs’ The Electric Kool-Aid Cuckoo Nest album begins with a cracking little track – I Understand – that successfully fuses classic surf rock elements with a punk vibe.

It’s got lush little guitar licks, a nice “woo-hoo” backdrop and a sunshine sensibilitity that’s both retro and contemporary, and which is designed to get those hips swinging in unison with its swinging vibe.

Alas, it’s a false dawn. The remainder of the album never once comes close to the quality of that opener… opting instead for a Strokes-ian post-punk vibe there everything eventually sounds the same.

Stay Cool, the track that follows it, is a spiky punk rocker that boasts threatening vocals and a slipshod approach. You could be forgiven for thinking someone had switched the CDs in your stereo.

And so it goes… the guitar work is mostly lively and well put together (check out the opening riffs of Just So You Know), but the songs are often let down by the vocals.

Tracks like The Dystopian Not So Future, which comes over all Pete Doherty, or Best Of Me, which so wants to be The Strokes mixed with The Clash, also feel like pale imitators rather than genre progressors. Nothing Between The Lines, meanwhile, attempts to channel The Smiths and The Strokes.

Every once in a while a cute riff (Claok And Dagger) or more restrained approach (I Don’t Have The Time) threatens to put things back on track, but even then the vocals tend to undo the good work laid down by the instrumentals (especially in the former’s case).

If you’re a fan of the punk rock, or even post-punk scene, Eight Legs will probably crawl nicely into your musical sub-conscious and deliver its fair share of delights. But given the quality of that opening song, most of what follows is all the more disappointing.

Obscure name aside, it’s a forgettable LP – more average than outright bad.

Download picks: I Understand, Just So You Know, Wish It Was The ’60s, I Don’t Have The Time

Track listing:

  1. I Understand
  2. Stay Cool
  3. Just So You Know
  4. The Dystopian Not So Future
  5. Best of Me
  6. I Don’t Have The Time
  7. Cloak And Dagger
  8. More Than Nothing At All
  9. Wish It Was The ’60s
  10. Untitled
  11. Nothing Between The Lines
  12. The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test

  1. Obscure name!!!!
    What you on about?
    Call yourself a music reviewer,
    Where have you been?

    rikrok    Feb 25    #