Follow Us on Twitter

Enter Shikari lead AIM Awards nominees (2012)

Enter Shikari

Story by Jack Foley

ENTER Shikari lead the nominees for this year’s Association of Independent Music (AIM) Awards.

The band are up for best live act, hardest working band and independent album of the year for their latest record, A Flash Flood of Colour.

Elsewhere, Alabama Shakes, Frank Turner and Madness are all up for two awards each.

While other independent artists nominated for awards include Adele, The Prodigy and Arctic Monkeys plus a plethora of new talent including Django Django, Alt-J, Grimes, Poliça, First Aid Kit, Skinny Lister and many more.

The winners of the AIM Independent Music Awards 2012 will be announced at the Awards ceremony on October 29 at The Brewery in London which will be hosted by Huw Stephens and Steve Lamacq.

A panel of industry judges decides 11 prizes at the AIM Awards and three are voted for by the public.

Commenting on their nominations, Enter Shikari said: “It’s an honour to be nominated for not one but three awards. the Independent Album of the Year and Best Live Act award nominations mean a lot to us, and the Hardest Working Band feels appropriate right now (at time of writing, we’re in a jet lagged haze in Brisbane, Australia).

“Even if we end up walking away with no actual awards, it was nice that the independent world thought of us enough to nominate us for these coveted gongs. Bring it on.”

The full list of nominees is as follows…

Best Live Act (voted for by visitors to
The Cribs
Dub Pistols
Enter Shikari
The Prodigy
Frank Turner

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (in association with 7Digital)
Alabama Shakes
Alt – J
Django Django

Hardest Working Band Or Artist
Cancer Bats
Enter Shikari
Frank Turner
Skinny Lister

Best Difficult Second Album
Admiral Fallow – Tree Bursts In Snow
First Aid Kit – The Lion’s Roar
Speech Debelle – Freedom Of Speech
The Invisible – Rispah
The Skints – Part & Parcel

Independent Album Of The Year (In association with Bird & Bird)
Alabama Shakes – Boys & Girls
Enter Shikari – A Flash Flood Of Colour
Liars – Wixiw
Future Of The Left – The Plot Against Common Sense
Rustie – Glass Swords

Best Small Label (in association with Sound Performance)
Alcopop! Records
Black Butter Records
Pink Mist
Xtra Mile Recordings

Genre Spotlight Award
Broadcaster Ft Peggy Seeger – Folksploitation
Lorn – Ask The Dust
Neil Cowley Trio – The Face Of Mount Molehill
Netsky – 2
Wiley – Evolve Or Be Extinct

Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year (in association with The Orchard)
Alex Di Savoia – Aardvark Records
Chris Goss / Tony Colman / Tom Kelsey – Hospital Records
Louis Barabbas – Debt Records
Sam Dyson – Distiller Records
Simon Raymonde – Bella Union

PPL Award For Most Played Independent Act
Arctic Monkeys
Caro Emerald

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year
Amon Tobin – Amon Tobin
Madness – A Guided Tour Of Madness
Can – The Lost Tapes
The 13th Floor Elevators – Music Of The Spheres
Various Artists – The Original Sound Of Cumbia

Independent Label Of The Year (in association with EDC)
Bella Union
Hospital Records
Ninja Tune

Indie Champion Award
Olli Dutton – Obscene Strategies
Ian Evans – IME Music
Steve Lamacq – BBC 6music
Katie Parsons – Kerrang!
Shell Zenner – Amazing Radio

Best Independent Festival (voted for by visitors to
In The Woods Festival
Truck Festival
Y Not Festival
Bearded Theory