Follow Us on Twitter

Eoin Glackin - Eoin Glackin (Review)

Eoin Glackin

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

BILLED as one of Ireland’s most exciting young singer-songwriters, Eoin Glackin leaves up to that billing with his latest, eponymous album.

Self-taught on the piano and later the guitar, he has been songwriting since the age of 15, having become infatuated with the art of passing on stories through music.

The songs on his current LP take their cues as much from his inspirations – Dylan, Springsteen and The Beatles – as they do similarly like-minded contemporary troubadours such as Seth Lakeman and Ben Howard.

But if you like any of those artists, then there’s gold to be mined here. And if sombre opening track Dancing Anymore owes more (somewhat surprisingly) to Ronan Keating than it does those aforementioned influences, the album kicks into gear properly with the feisty folk-rocker Dark Rockin’ Woman, which combines some gutsy guitars with a crowd-pleasing chorus (and a strong mix of guitars and violins).

Rain Finally Came has an epic quality that, once more, shows Glackin’s ability to drop a strong chorus, while the gutsy Nothing Take Us Easy emerges like a proper party record – the type of rousing, singa-long inspiring effort that Lakeman or The Levellers specialise in. Again, the violins are pronounced here, lending it that hint of Irish revellery that’s difficult to dislike.

There’s a notable ability to deliver a telling ballad or two as well. What Am I To You?, for instance, sounds a lot like the type of B-side that Noel Gallagher-led Oasis might have delivered in their heyday, while Pretty Girl has a slow-burning appeal about it that is deliciously bittersweet (and acoustically backed).

Worth noting, too, are the foot-stomping Hello Caroline, which puts you into the party spirit once again, and the lively Ride It Out, which has a Springsteen kind of vibe.

Put together, Eoin Glackin only enhances his burgeoning reputation with this impressive collection of songs.

Download picks: Dark Rockin’ Woman, Morning Take Us Easy, What Am I To You?, Hello Caroline, Pretty Girl

Track listing:

  1. Dancing Anymore
  2. Dark Rockin’ Woman
  3. Rain Finally Came
  4. Morning Take Us Easy
  5. What Am I To You?
  6. Hello Caroline
  7. You Are The Revolution
  8. Pretty Girl
  9. Ride It Out
  10. Last Night In This Town