Follow Us on Twitter

Ether 2009: Festival line-up announced


Story by Jack Foley

THE full line-up for Ether 2009 has just been announced for London’s Southbank Centre, including Royksopp (pictured), David Byrne and Peaches. It takes place from April 9 to 24, 2009.

Ether is a festival of art and technology that places a strong emphasis on cutting-edge collaborations and visual culture.

Past festivals have featured Kraftwerk, Jonny Greenwood, Jim O’Rourke, Dizzee Rascal, Matmos, Squarepusher, Goldfrapp, Terry Riley, Pere Ubu & the Brothers Quay, Morton Subotnick, Harmonia, Radiosoulwax and the Warp Works series, in which the London Sinfonietta collaborated with artists from Shefflied’s legendary Warp Records to explore the connections between contemporary classical music and modern electronica.

The 2009 line-up is (all April 2009)…

9 – Conversation Piece: Brian Eno and Jon Hassell
10 – Peaches: Every Little Defect Deserves Respect
11 – Röyksopp
12 & 13 April – David Byrne presents The Songs of David Byrne and Brian Eno *
17 – Mouse on Mars soundtrack, Herzog’s Fata Morgana
18 – Plaid and Supanggah
19 – Noise of Art featuring The Juan MacLean & Château Flight
21 – Touch presents Fennesz, Rosy Parlane & CM von Hausswolff
24 – Heiner Goebbels: Sampler Suite & Songs of War I Have Seen

Tickets go on sale to Southbank Centre members at 10am on Thursday, January 22 and then to all comers from 10am on Friday, January 23.

David Byrne’s performance is already on sale. No tickets are currently available.