Follow Us on Twitter

Fight Like Apes – The Body of Christ and The Legs of Tina Turner

Fight Like Apes, The Body of Christ and The Legs of Tina Turner

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

DUBLIN alt-rockers Fight Like Apes look set to further enhance their reputation as provocateurs par excellence of electro-punk with sophomore album The Body of Christ And The Legs of Tina Turner.

But while fun, volatile, foul-mouthed and funny, they’re also in danger of becoming a little too bound by their trademark sound.

For this latest LP, the band have recruited the production hand of Gang Of Four’s guitarist Andy Gill (whose past duties have included Young Knives and Red Hot Chili Peppers) and attempted to perfect their post-hardcore synthery with typically cartoon punk elements.

Hence, the boy-girl vocals remain intact, as does the sometimes scintillating blend of synths and punk rock elements. The same shambolic approach to song-writing (ie, knee-jerk tempo changes, and melodic to punk vocals in a split second) also remain intact, as does their ability to come up with an intriguing song title.

Lyrically, they continue to be fun as well… with their word-play sometimes compensating for the fact that a lot of their songs can sound the same.

The highlights this time around include former single Jenny Kelly, which finds Mary-Kate Geraghty at her disarming best, and the fantastically warped Pull Off Your Arms And Let’s Play In Your Blood, which finds Geraghty taking a trip to the dark side and declaring that her friends inform her that she was a “c**t”. Charmingly put… and certainly not for the innocent!

But then Fight Like Apes aren’t ones for playing nice and demure… rather they’ll talk of severed genitals and self-loathing, with Pull Off Your Arms… also making itself a promise to stop writing songs about “cutting you up”.

Elsewhere on the album, a song like Kathmandu (Face It, You’re Caviar, I’m Hotdogs) offers another enticing blend of fun synths, stop-start riffs and harmony-laden vocals that juxtapose more offbeat observations, while Thank God You Weren’t Thirsty (Lightbulb) almost displays a more sensitive, ballad-leaning side before layering in the drums and guitars to equally engaging effect.

Captain A-Bomb, meanwhile, opens with a brilliantly quirky cartoon sample, before dropping some more ragged, loopy synths and explosive lyrical bombs that provide another heady mix of contrasts.

Such moments also make up for some of the more routine offerings, such as Hoo Ha Henry and Poached Eggs, which are more straight-forward instrumentally and less melodic.

Overall, though, Fight Like Apes’ latest album is a fun concoction that at least matches, without really surpassing, their equally quirky debut.

Watch the video for Jenny Kelly:

Download picks: Jenny Kelly, Pull Off Your Arms And Let’s Play In Your Blood, Captain A-Bomb, Thank God You Weren’t Thirsty (Lightbulb)

Track listing:

  1. Come On, Let’s Talk About Our Feelings
  2. Jenny Kelly
  3. Pull Off Your Arms And Let’s Play In Your Blood
  4. Hoo Ha Henry
  5. Kathmandu (Face It, You’re Caviar, I’m Hotdogs)
  6. Thank God You Weren’t Thirsty (Lightbulb)
  7. Poached Eggs
  8. Captain A-Bomb
  9. Waking Up With Robocop
  10. Indie Monster
  11. Z + H5 Together At Last
  12. Ice Cream Apple Fuck