Follow Us on Twitter

Fightstar - One Day Son, This Will All Be Yours

Fightstar, One Day Son, This Will All Be Yours

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

THE second album from Fightstar marks a further step away from lead singer Charlie Simpson’s early boy band roots (with Busted). And it’s a rock monster in many senses – loud, emphatic and really good in places.

Enlisting the help of American producer Matt Wallace, Fightstar sound determined to blow away any lingering doubts that they’re really a pop band in hiding with some blistering rock songs that seek to emulate the style of many of their contemporaries.

Hence, some tracks take their cues from the grandiose operatic rock stylings of Muse, others attempt to emulate the out-and-out heaviness of Slayer, and others straddle the line between rock and nu-metal a la Linkin Park. When done properly, Fightstar manage a fair few highs.

But in doing so, they almost forget to really forge a signature sound and sometimes appear to be overstretching themselves in terms of scope.

Album openers 99 and We Apologise For Nothing actually kickstart things in fairly average fashion, emerging as bog-standard anthems that build to several emotive highs amid some skyscraping guitar riffs. They’re perfectly OK for the genre, but they don’t really offer any insight into the diversity in store.

The first track to really stand out, however, is Floods, an epic in its own right that begins with some swirling piano loops, before dropping some crunching riffs and then building to the type of falsetto-heavy, eletronica laden chorus that would make Muse proud. It’s not in Muse’s league, though – but it’s a decent stab.

Death Car explodes into life with the heaviest riffs on the album and some Goth-style wailing, before trading between melodic verses and menacing choruses, before I Am The Message comes over all radio-friendly with the sort of guitar riffs and brisk drumming that wouldn’t sound out of place on a +44 or Angels & Airwaves album.

You & I begins well and contains some interesting guitar-work, as well as some vocal interplay between the band’s two singers. It’s evidence, in places, of the Linkin Park sound – although the “you and I will never make it out of here alive” section does prove a winner.

The latter part of the album then continues to get progressively better and considerably more diverse. Amaze Us is a fairly straightforward rocker but HIP (Enough) is another stab at the rock grandeur of Muse that busily changes tempos, and Tannhauser Gate underlines their ability to mix up the melodic with the really heavy.

Penultimate track Our Last Common Ancestor is the obligatory tender track, but still manages to drop in some impressive guitar work, and Unfamiliar Ceilings rounds things off in a surprising amount of style, beginning with a melancholy lone riff and a stripped back vocal and then building towards a multi-layered finale complete with female backing vocals.

It rounds off a surprisingly successful offering that contains more hits than you may automatically have guessed. For Charlie, the ghost of Busted has firmly been exorcised.

Download picks: Floods, I Am The Message, You & I, Tannhauser Gate, Our Last Common Ancestor, Unfamiliar Ceilings

Track listing:

  1. 99
  2. We Apologise For Nothing
  3. Floods
  4. One Day Son
  5. Deathcar
  6. I Am The Message
  7. You & I
  8. Amaze Us
  9. H.I.P. (Enough)
  10. Tannhauser Gate
  11. Our Last Common Ancestor
  12. Unfamiliar Ceilings