Follow Us on Twitter

Fink - Sort of Revolution

Fink, Sort of Revolution

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

FIN Greenall, aka Fink, gives new meaning to the term ‘under-stated’. If he were any more laidback, he’d probably be horizontal.

In Fink’s case, however, this is a good thing, for the former Brighton DJ’s third album Sort of Revolution is brimming with invention in the quietest way possible.

Built around his tender, gruff vocals and numerous acoustic loops, it’s an engaging listen that displays plenty of musical invention in spite of its low-key, slow-burning sound.

Unlike its predecessor, the Andy Barlow produced Distance And Time, this resorts back to using Fink’s own production values and marks a return to the basics of his debut of sorts.

But there are some interesting collaborations, most notably with John Legend and former Crash Test Dummies member Son of Dave.

Legend first crops up on early album highlight Move On Me, supplying some soulful piano to counter-balance Fink’s bluesy guitars and serene vocals, before assisting with the writing of Maker, another classy piece of songwriting and laidback bliss (all about misbehaving).

Son of Dave, meanwhile, helps bring a funkier element to the guitar work on Pigtails, which slow builds in enchanting fashion to gradually layer in the instruments.

Fink’s own skills are in abundance, too, with album opener Sort of Revoution transforming in beguiling fashion from gentle acoustic strumming and vocal harmonies to an electric climax, and Q&A offering an irresistible a-capella number inspired by classic D’Angelo, and embellished with lush vocal harmonies.

A cover version of Jeff Barry’s 70s classic Walking In The Sun, meanwhile, draws things to a close in supremely confident fashion, stripping the song right back down to basics, drawing on some gospel-style backing, and allowing Fink’s own vocals to properly command centre-stage.

It’s all quietly mesmerising, extremely laidback and frequently beguiling in its own unique way.

Download picks: Move On Me, Q&A, Pigtails, Walking In The Sun

Track listing:

  1. Sort of Revolution
  2. Move on Me
  3. Six Weeks
  4. Nothing Is Ever Finished
  5. See It All
  6. Q & A
  7. If I Had a Million
  8. Pigtails
  9. Maker
  10. Walking in the Sun