Follow Us on Twitter

Foo Fighters - Greatest Hits

Foo Fighters, Greatest Hits

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

SINCE being formed by former Nirvana drummer Dave Grohl in 1995, Foo Fighters have become one of the biggest rock acts of their generation, seeling millions of records world-wide and gaining a reputation for gutsy guitar music.

Yet while they can be heavy as hell when they want to be, what has undoubtedly helped endear them so consistently to the mainstream is their sense of humour and an ear for a catchy hook. Plus, they can come over all mellow when they want to, and also have a keen passion for stripping things back acoustically.

2005’s In Your Honour, for instance, was split into two CDs – one heavy rock, the other tender acoustics. Both worked fine and prompted the band to engage in an acoustic tour to accompany the quieter side of their music. It proved a sell-out.

The release of this Greatest Hits package, while good, is by no means the definitive collection of all things Foo Fighters. It offers a nice snapshot… but is missing some key moments I’d have liked to have seen.

Walking After You, for instance, isn’t featured, despite being a classic example of the band at their most mellow [and romantic!], while DOA only appears in video form on the 2-disc version.

The seminal Foo Fighters moments, such as Everlong, Monkey Wrench and Learn To Fly are present and correct, though… serving notice and reminders of why they have consistently been among the finest of America’s rock exports.

And of the two packages, we’d opt for the 2-disc release, as this includes the videos that are an equal part of the Foo Fighters success story. They certainly know how to make you laugh visually, with their music expertly combining with some genuinely fine video moments.

Long may the Foo Fighters’ success story continue!

Download picks: Money Wrench, Learn To Fly, Everlong, Best of You, Long Road To Ruin, Times Like These

Track listing:
Disc 1

  1. All My Life
  2. Best Of You
  3. Everlong
  4. Pretender, The
  5. My Hero
  6. Learn To Fly
  7. Times Like These
  8. Monkey Wrench
  9. Big Me
  10. Breakout
  11. Long Road To Ruin
  12. This Is A Call
  13. Skin And Bones
  14. Wheels
  15. Word Forward
  16. Everlong [acoustic]

Disc 2

  1. I’ll Stick Around [DVD]
  2. Big Me [DVD]
  3. Monkeywrench [DVD]
  4. Everlong [DVD]
  5. My Hero [DVD]
  6. Walking After You [DVD]
  7. Learn To Fly [DVD]
  8. Next Year [DVD]
  9. All My Life [DVD]
  10. Times Like These [DVD]
  11. Low [DVD]
  12. Best Of You [DVD]
  13. DOA [DVD]
  14. Resolve [DVD]
  15. Pretender, The [DVD]
  16. Long Road To Ruin [DVD]
  17. Wheels [DVD]
  18. Everlong [live from everywhere but home/DVD]
  19. Breakout [live from Hyde Park/DVD]
  20. Skin And Bones [live from Skin And Bones/DVD]
  21. All My Life [live from Wembley/DVD]