Follow Us on Twitter

Footloose and The Sound of Music added to The US National Recording Registry


Story by Jack Foley

KENNY Loggins’ classic Footloose and the soundtrack to The Sound of Music have been added to the US National Recording Registry, which preserves records of great cultural significance.

The recordings are among 25 to have been selected for recognition this year, alongside Chic’s Le Freak, Run DMC’s Raising Hell and Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours.

The National Recording Registry, which is held by the Library of Congress, now comprises 500 titles. To be eligible, recordings must be at least 10 years old. But the choices are not limited to music (a Groucho Marx concert is among this year’s additions) and anything from a single song to an entire album is considered.

All successful additions must be “culturally, historically, or aesthetically important”.

Loggins’ Footloose, taken from the Kevin Bacon movie of the same name, was a global smash in 1984 and still receives regular airplay on some UK radio stations. The singer himself has previously described it as being “almost like the national anthem”.

Commenting on Run DMC’s inclusion, Rev Run told the LA Times: “For a rap artist to be put on the same level as these other great artists is truly a massive honour.”

Others added this year include Bill Haley’s rock and roll standard Rock Around the Clock, Tony Bennett’s I Left My Heart in San Francisco and The Temptations’ My Girl.

There are also spoken-word recordings and noteworthy newscasts, including NBC Radio’s coverage of the gathering in San Francisco that led to the creation of the United Nations.

The full list of recordings added to the registry this year is:

- Dream Melody Intermezzo: Naughty Marietta – Victor Herbert and his Orchestra (1911)

- Standing Rock Preservation Recordings – George Herzog and Members of the Yanktoni Tribe (1928)

- Lamento Borincano – Canario y Su Grupo (1930)

- Sitting on Top of the World – Mississippi Sheiks (1930)

- The Complete Beethoven Piano Sonatas – Artur Schnabel (1932-35)

- If I Didn’t Care – The Ink Spots (1939)

- Proceedings of the United Nations Conference on International Organization (April 25, 1945 to June 26, 1945)

- Folk Songs of the Hills – Merle Travis (1946)

- How I Got Over – Clara Ward and the Ward Singers (1950)

- (We’re Gonna) Rock Around the Clock – Bill Haley & His Comets (1954)

- Calypso – Harry Belafonte (1956)

- I Left My Heart in San Francisco – Tony Bennett (1962)

- King Biscuit Time (radio) – Sonny Boy Williamson II and others (1965)

- My Girl – The Temptations (1964)

- The Sound of Music (soundtrack) – Various Artists (1965)

- Alice’s Restaurant Massacree – Arlo Guthrie (1967)

- New Sounds in Electronic Music – Steve Reich, Richard Maxfield, Pauline Oliveros (1967)

- An Evening With Groucho – Groucho Marx (1972)

- Rumours – Fleetwood Mac (1977)

- The Gambler – Kenny Rogers (1978)

- Le Freak – Chic (1978)

- Footloose – Kenny Loggins (1984)

-Raising Hell – Run-DMC (1986)

- Rhythm Is Gonna Get You – Gloria Estefan and the Miami Sound Machine (1987)

- Yo-Yo Ma Premieres: Concertos for Violoncello and Orchestra – Various Artists (1996)