Follow Us on Twitter

Frightened Rabbit announce Brixton headline show (2013)

Story by Jack Foley

FOLLOWING their mammoth two month US tour which took sold out shows across the board, including New York’s Terminal 5, Frightened Rabbit have announced a Brixton Academy headline show on November 8, 2013.

Pre-sale tickets will be available from Wednesday (April 17, 2013) for fans who have signed up to their mailing list with general tickets available from Friday.

For those who can’t wait until November, Frightened Rabbit will also be playing at Glastonbury, End of the Road Festival, T in the Park and Boardmasters, with more festival announcements to come soon.

The band are also releasing an etched 7” vinyl as part of Record Store Day on April 20.

Entitled Norland Wind, it is the result of a collaboration with Scottish folk band LAU. After a long period of mutual admiration, the two bands finally headed into the studio in Glasgow together and laid down their version of this classic track, which began its life as the poem Norland Wind (The Wild Geese), written in 1915 by Angus poet Violet Jacob and was first set to music by folk singer Jim Reid.

Scott commented: “I still remember the day I fell for this song whilst on a train down to London. I felt it mirrored a lot of the things I was trying to say in Scottish Winds (strangely, written before I heard Norland Wind) and it immediately struck a chord.”

For Record Store Day in the US, Frightened Rabbit have teamed up with Grouplove and Manchester Orchestra to release the collaboration Make It To Me and the Manchester Orchestra/Frightened Rabbit collaboration Architect, will be available Saturday, April 20 at participating independent record stores.

Frightened Rabbit UK tour and festival dates (all 2013)

June 28 – 30 – Glastonbury Festival

July 12 – 14 – T In The Park, Kinross-shire

August 9 – Boardmasters, Newquay

August 30– September 1 – End Of The Road

November 8 – Brixton Academy

Frightened Rabbit are – Scott Hutchison (lead vocals/rhythm guitar), Billy Kennedy (bass), Andy Monaghan (guitar/keys), Grant Hutchison (drums) and Gordon Skene (guitar/keys).

Ticketmaster UK