Follow Us on Twitter

Frightened Rabbit announce new EP and UK tour dates (2013)

Story by Jack Foley

SELKIRK quintet Frightened Rabbit have announced details of their new EP, The Woodpile EP, and a series of UK dates in November.

The Woodpile EP is set to release on September 2 through Atlantic Records and features the title track and three new songs. It follows the band’s critically-acclaimed fourth studio album, Pedestrian Verse, which was released earlier this year.

The band will be supporting The National on their upcoming US tour throughout September and will headline a string of UK shows in November.

The run of UK dates will kick off in Newcastle on November 5 before visiting Manchester, Bristol, Birmingham, London’s Brixton Academy and then closing on November 16 in Scotland.

Furthermore, the band will be performing at Boardmasters Festival in Newquay, Reading and Leeds Festival and End of The Road Festival in August.

Speaking about the new release, singer Scott Hutchinson says: “The Woodpile is about that night you felt utterly out of place, alone, awkward and cornered. All any of us want in those instances is for someone we care about to come and take us away from it all.

“It’s escapist, but also claustrophobic in places. I like the idea of contrasting a big, confident piece of music with lyrics that express uncertainty and vulnerability.”

The tour dates are (all November 2013)

5 – Newcastle University
6 – Manchester Ritz
7 – Bristol Anson Rooms
8 – London Brixton Academy
10 – Southampton University
11 – Birmingham Institute
12 – Sheffield Leadmill
14 – Dublin Olympia
15 – Belfast Mandela Hall
16 – Glasgow O2 Academy