Follow Us on Twitter

Funeral For A Friend - Your History Is Mine (2002-2009)

Funeral For A Friend, Your History Is Mine: 2002-2009

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2.5 out of 5

WELSH rockers Funeral For A Friend deliver their first career retrospective in the form of the 16-track Your History Is Mine: 2002-2009 – but while certainly packed with monster riffs, plenty of Goth-like wailing and the odd moment of melody, it’s a laboured listen that’s short on much diversity.

Formed in 2002, Funeral For A Friend have quickly established themselves as one of Britain’s biggest rock acts, releasing four albums and generally becoming a popular mainstay of festivals such as Download.

Yet while they undoubtedly deliver the stadium-sized monster rock tracks with relish and possess a sound that’s equally at ease on either side of the Atlantic, their music suffers from the same feeling of over-familiarity that blights a lot of heavier rock acts.

Vocalist Matthew Davies and co seem to think that so long as there’s a fair smattering of genre requirements, the fans will swarm.

Hence, opening blasts such as 10:45 Amsterdam Conversations and This Year’s Most Open Heartbreak just pound away at your nerves and eventually get on them!

They even repeat this trick late on, with new tracks such as Captains of Industry and Wrench resorting to the same type of heavy verse-melodic chorus structure of their earliest material.

The compilation briefly rallies during its middle section, when a more radio-friendly, melody based style of songwriting creeps into their music. Hence, tracks like Red Is The New Black and Streetcar make a better fist of mixing heaviness with restraint.

History, meanwhile, is the standout track… a power ballad that builds really nicely amid decent verse structure, strong vocals and polished guitar work.

Into Oblivion and Walk Away also emerge as highlights before the general aura of heaviness kicks back in and the album resorts to formula.

As Funeral For A Friend look to begin the next phase of their career, they might want to keep in mind that a little bit more diversity would go a long way.

Download picks: Streetcar, History, Into Oblivion, Walk Away

Track listing:

  1. 10:45 Amsterdam Conversations
  2. This Year’s Most Open Heartbreak
  3. Juneau
  4. She Drove Me To Daytime Television
  5. Escape Artists Never Die
  6. Red Is The New Black
  7. Streetcar
  8. Roses For The Dead
  9. History
  10. Into Oblivion (Reunion)
  11. Walk Away
  12. Kicking And Screaming
  13. No Honour Among Thieves
  14. Built To Last
  15. Wrench
  16. Captains Of Industry

  1. This reviewer is clearly a total clown. Ffaf are an amazing band. If can get your “indie” ears out of shit like Keane or The Kooks, you might notice that this band already incorporates a huge amount of diversity into its music, with each release being a different musical approach. Go and listen again. It probably blew your piano-rock balls off and you were too exhausted to think clearly enough to write a review to give funeral for a friend’s anthology the justice it deserves

    tom    Sep 28    #
  2. Completely agree with tom. You clearly have listened to this album with a very narrow minded approach. I find fans of indie music the least receptive to other genres and think that this review follows the mindset of every indie music fan. Terrible review.

    ollie    Sep 28    #