Follow Us on Twitter

George Harrison - Let It Roll: Songs By George Harrison

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 5 out of 5

LET It Roll marks the first-ever career-spanning solo hits collection from Beatles legend George Harrison. It’s downright essential stuff.

Comprised of 19 tracks that have been digitally remastered by Giles Martin at EMI’s Abbey Road Studios, it includes the No.1 Billboard Pop singles My Sweet Lord, Isn’t It A Pity, Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth) and the seminal Got My Mind Set On You.

The album also features live recordings of three timeless Harrison-penned Beatles songs – Something, While My Guitar Gently Weeps and Here Comes The Sun from his 1971 all-star Concert For Bangladesh benefit at Madison Square Garden.

The late, great Harrison is a twice-inducted member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, as a solo artist and as a member of The Beatles, and an 11-time Grammy Award winner for his recordings with The Beatles, Traveling Wilburys, and as a solo artist.

On April 14, he was honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in Los Angeles.

Many of the songs featured on the album are timeless and show no sign of ageing. Whether extolling the virtues of Hare Krishna on My Sweet Lord or providing the closing credits to Lethal Weapon II on Cheer Down, Harrison’s vocals and guitar playing are brilliant.

He was an intelligent songwriter who knew how to combine thoughtful lyricism with popular melodies, as befitting a former member of The Beatles.

My Sweet Lord, for instance, is ranked 454th on Rolling Stone magazine’s 500 Greatest Songs of All-Time list. It’s taken from his triple album All Things Must Pass.

Conversely, Got My Mind Set On You shows just what the power of celebrity can do for a single. Originally written by Rudy Clark and recorded by James Ray in 1962, it was transformed into popular music gold by Harrison in 1988 and immediately hit the No.1 spot. It’s fun, anthemic and great for singing and bopping along to.

Yet Let It Roll is littered with classics, from the peaceful Give Me Love, the blissful, reflective All Things Must Pass, the bluesy-folksy rollicking Any Road to the more contemporary guitar anthem This Is Love or the funky, riff-driven What Is Life, which is made for boogeying.

Harrison, though not quite as high profile as Sir Paul McCartney or John Lennon in their solo careers, was a true legend and a one of a kind. Let It Roll underlines why. Make it part of your record collection!

Download picks: Let It Roll, Got My Mind Set On You, Any Road, What Is Life, Here Comes The Sun [Live], Cheer Down, This Is Love, My Sweet Lord, While My Guitar Gently Weeps [Live]

Track listing:

  1. Got My Mind Set On You
  2. Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth)
  3. The Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)
  4. My Sweet Lord
  5. While My Guitar Gently Weeps [Live] – Concert For Bangladesh
  6. All Things Must Pass
  7. Any Road
  8. This Is Love
  9. All Those Years Ago
  10. Marwa Blues
  11. What Is Life
  12. Rising Sun
  13. When We Was Fab
  14. Something [Live] – Concert For Bangladesh
  15. Blow Away
  16. Cheer Down
  17. Here Comes The Sun [Live] – Concert For Bangladesh
  18. I Don’t Want To Do It
  19. Isn’t It A Pity