Follow Us on Twitter

Glee: The Music: Volume 2 - Review

Glee: The Music, Volume 2

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THE Glee music phenomenon shows little sign of slowing up yet. Just weeks after Glee: The Music, Volume 1 shot to the top of the UK album charts, Volume 2 is rush-released into stores.

It features the usual confident and highly appealing mix of cover versions and mash-ups of well known pop and show tunes… albeit with a greater emphasis on meaning this time.

And if the selection of songs is anything to go by, then the series itself looks to be getting a little more serious as it heads towards the end of its debut season.

Selections include I’ll Stand By You, Lean On Me, Endless Love, Imagine and True Colours – songs that are loaded with emotion, and delivered in the type of style that suggests high drama.

It means there are fewer euphoric tracks, such as the standard-bearing Don’t Stop Believin’ (that kick-started the download frenzy for all things Glee).

But the quality remains – and that’s important.

Of the numerous highlights to be picked out this time, the cover of I’ll Stand By You is typically heartfelt and delivered nicely by Cory Monteith’s Finn, who repeats the trick on the similarly sweet and heart-warming (You’re) Having My Baby (a song originally written by Paul Anka).

The whole cast unites for a curiously sombre, but typically well-meaning, rendition of John Lennon’s timeless Imagine, while Burt Bacharach’s Don’t Make Me Over is another classic given a fresh lease of life, Glee-style.

And Jenna Ushkowitz’s Tina delivers a typically passionate, and nicely reigned in, cover of Cyndi Lauper favourite, True Colours.

All the above mentioned, however, are quite moody and meaningful… as seems to be the greater focus of Volume 2.

There is some fun to be had, though… most notably from a lively rendition of Van Halen’s Jump, a breezy make-over of the always breezy Lily Allen offering Smile and a crowd-pleasing rendition of Rolling Stones’ classic You Can’t Always Get What You Want.

So, if you enjoyed Volume 1 and were thirsting for more… Volume 2 delivers the Glee-filled goods in spades!

Track listing:

  1. Proud Mary
  2. Endless Love
  3. I’ll Stand By You
  4. Don’t Stand So Close To Me / Young Girl
  5. Crush
  6. (You’re) Having My Baby
  7. Lean On Me
  8. Don’t Make Me Over
  9. Imagine
  10. True Colours
  11. Jump
  12. Smile (Lily Allen cover )
  13. Smile (Charlie Chaplin cover )
  14. And I’m Telling You I’m Not Going
  15. Don’t Rain On My Parade
  16. You Can’t Always get What You Want
  17. My Life Would Suck Without You

Glee: The Music, Volume 2 will be released on CD and download on Monday, March 15 on Epic Records. Watch Glee on E4 Monday and Thursday nights and on Channel 4 every Sunday.