Follow Us on Twitter

Glee The Music: Volume 6 - Review

Glee: Season 2, Volume 6

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

SAY what you will about the dip in quality of Glee’s second season but the music remains the compelling reason for seeing it. No one, after all, can deliver a cover version quite like Glee!

Volume 6 of the ever-expanding musical catalogue is arguably the most diverse yet, mixing in the contemporary likes of Adele and Lady Gaga with big show tunes (Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber’s As If We Never Said Goodbye, an old Disney classic (Bella Nottye) and timeless greats from rock veterans Fleetwood Mac (circa Rumours).

It’s a little more serious in tone than early episodes, as if to echo the emotions and high stakes that come with a season finale.

But there are still some great choices and the usual typically strong showcase of vocals, whether from a guest star such as Gwyneth Paltrow or seasoned cast regulars such as the ever impressive Lea Michele and Chris Colfer.

Highlights this time around include Lea Michele’s take on Fleetwood Mac classic Go Your Own Way (one of several Mac moments), and a bluesy, gospel-tinged take on Adele’s Rolling In The Deep, which is delivered with meaning by Jonathan Groff and Lea Michele.

Paltrow does a good job with Adele’s Turning Tables, while Amber Riley, Jenna Ushkowitz and Chris Colfer actually outdo Lady Gaga on Born This Way, which sounds a lot better than the original it is paying homage to.

Abba fans will get the obligatory ‘Abba rush’ from the rousing rendition of Dancing Queen, while Kevin McHale’s rendition of Isn’t She Lovely charms, and comes backed with the kitchen utensil percussion used by fellow cast members in the relevant episode.

There’s even three all-new songs, to further the new trend for creating their own music started in Volume 5.

Of these, Charice goes first with the emotive ballad As Long As You’re There, while Lea Michele and Cory Monteith team up for the telling duet Pretending. Of the new songs, it may just be the pick, layered as it is with plenty of emotion, a thrilling back-beat and some strong piano work. What’s more, it makes an instant impression (as it was designed to do within the context of the show).

Light Up The World, meanwhile, is the obligatory feel-good curtain-raising finale that finds all cast members contributing to vocals. It’s not quite as euphoric as hearing that Journey cover for the first time, or Volume 5’s Loser Like Me, but it’s a foot-stomper of shimmering pop proportions that sounds as good as anything Pink, Gaga or company are currently offering.

It also makes you ponder whether a Glee album of all new material isn’t far off.
Volume 6 is therefore another excellent addition to the Glee catalogue that, while perhaps not as sharp and celebratory as some of the very best compilations, remains a must have to add to the collection.

Download picks: Turning Tables, Dreams, Songbird, Go Your Own Way, Rolling In The Deep, Isn’t She Lovely, Pretending

Track listing:

  1. Turning Tables
  2. I Feel Pretty/Unpretty
  3. As If We Never Said Goodbye
  4. Born This Way
  5. Dreams
  6. Songbird
  7. Go Your Own Way
  8. Don’t Stop
  9. Rolling In The Deep
  10. Isn’t She Lovely
  11. Dancing Queen
  12. Try A Little Tenderness
  13. My Man
  14. Pure Imagination
  15. Bella Notte
  16. As Long As You’re There
  17. Pretending
  18. Light Up The World

  1. Good tracks.. nice series.. I hope season 3 is coming its way.

    geof    Jun 7    #