Follow Us on Twitter

Gomez - A New Tide

Gomez, A New Tide

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 5 out of 5

HAVING celebrated their tenth anniversary in style with the release of How We Operate, Gomez now continue to remind everyone what a great act they are with the release of A New Tide.

Shot through with those distinctive dual vocals, breezy harmonies, ceaselessly evolving rhythms and electrifying guitar work, it’s another supremely satisfying collection of songs that deserves to find its way into any record collection.

Early tracks for the album were written and recorded individually by band members in both Brooklyn and Brighton and then merged together online in a process that allowed for an open and adaptive songwriting approach.

It wasn’t until Gomez officially convened in studios in Chicago and Charlottesville, VA, with producer Brian Deck (Modest Mouse, Iron and Wine) that the material took on its ultimate shape.

And even then it needed a little assistance from the illustrious likes of vocalist Amy Milan (Stars/Broken Social Scene), bassist Josh Abrams (The Roots /Godspeed You Black Emperor!), cellist Oliver Krauss (Paul Weller / Beth Orton), and multi-instrumentalist Stuart Bogie of Brooklyn’s world renowned Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra.

The result offers a typically wide range of styles, including flavours of Delta blues, psychedelia, and Krautrock – not to mention folk, rock and Beach Boys style harmonising.

It’s hard to pick out highlights such is the consistent overall quality of the material, but here’s just a few. There are no bad tracks!

Album opener Mix is a pleasant, even breezy entry point, built around a positive vocal and an acoustic strum that slow-builds into something utterly enriching; Little Pieces picks up the pace, flirts with classic Pearl Jam in some of its guitar riffs and underlines Gomez’s wonderful ability to layer in style, and If I Ask You Nicely shuffles along with guitars and organs striking up an outrageously breezy waltz.

My own personal favourite, Win Park Slope, has slide guitars darting about all over the place, violins underpinning them, pianos adding extra gravitas and one of the hands-down best choruses you’re likely to hear all year!

Airstream Driver, meanwhile, is a rousing rock anthem that beefs up the guitar sound, underlines the slide tendencies and sets a brisk, upbeat pace that’s designed to make your feet tap along in appreciative harmony.

Natural Reaction changes tempo and includes some lovely, even melancholy banjo licks that perfectly compliment the gruffer, lived in vocal side of the band, while album closer Sunset Gates even manages to draw on some Latino elements to bring the album to a supremely confident finish.

It may take a few listens to properly appreciate and glean everything it has to offer, but with A New Tide Gomez have yet again created another masterpiece to add to a back catalogue that’s littered with them.

Download picks: Little Pieces, Win Park Slope, Airstream Driver, Sunset Gates, Natural Reaction

Track listing:

  1. Mix
  2. Little Pieces
  3. If I Ask You Nicely
  4. Lost Track
  5. Win Park Slope
  6. Bone Tired
  7. Airstream Driver
  8. Natural Reaction
  9. Very Strange
  10. Other Plans
  11. Sunset Gates

  1. Gomez really are one of the world’s most under-rated bands. Everything they do smacks of quality and this new album is no exception. They don’t make bad records. Great review

    James    Mar 30    #