Follow Us on Twitter

Goo Goo Dolls announce new album and UK dates (2010)

Goo Goo Dolls

Story by Jack Foley

GOO Goo Dolls are back with their first studio album in four years and a set of new UK dates.

The Grammy-nominated band will release their ninth studio album, Something For The Rest of Us, on August 30, 2010, which will be preceded by the first single, Home, on August 23.

The album was produced by Tim Palmer (U2, Pearl Jam, David Bowie) with additional production by Butch Vig (Green Day, Nirvana, Foo Fighters, etc.) John Fields (Paul Westerberg, Jimmy Eat World) and Goo Goo Dolls.

In addition, the band will play a series of UK dates, including a night at London’s Brixton Academy in November.

The UK tour dates are (all November 2010):

8 – O2 Academy Newcastle
9 – O2 Academy Leeds
11 – O2 Academy Birmingham
13 – O2 London Brixton Academy
16 – O2 Academy Bristol
17 – O2 Academy Leicester

Tickets go on sale from Friday, July 30 at 9am.

Commenting on the new album, singer John Rzeznik said he confronts some of the issues that have become part of many people’s everyday lives.

“I wanted some of the material on this album to address the disillusionment of the difficult period we live in; I wanted to give a voice to the emotional uncertainty that accompanies hard times.

“So many people are struggling to keep it together through tough economic conditions and two wars that seem to have no end in sight. The ones who bear the brunt of these burdens are everyday people. That’s who I want to speak to.”