Follow Us on Twitter

Gramercy Arms - Gramercy Arms LP

Gramery Arms LP

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

GRAMERCY Arms is a super-group of sorts, featuring members of Joan As Police Woman, Guided By Voices and The Dambuilders, as well as guest vocals from comedian Sarah Silverman, Lloyd Cole and past and present members of Nada Surf.

Needless to say, it’s a pretty solid collection of summery indie-rock songs that take the term “sunshine vibe” and run with it. Hence, it’s laidback and really rather lovely, despite originating from East Coast New York.

Clocking in at a concise 30 minutes, it’s an LP capable of effortless appeal to fans of everyone from Jesus & Mary Chain to Nada Surf.

Album opener Automatic kicks things off in fine fashion, a spritely two minute, 18 second slice of indie-rock that contains some gritty riff-work and a sing-along chorus reminiscent of REM at their most radio-friendly.

It’s contrasted, almost immediately, by the acoustic folk of Looking At The Sun, a huskily delivered campfire classic that makes good use of boy-girl vocals, shimmering hooks and a handclap back-beat.

Nothing I Can Do slows the tempo down still further and flirts with Jesus & Mary Chain-style psychedelia, before a beautifully melodic “do, do, do” opening sets the scene for the much sunnier Since Last September – a breezy summer anthem if ever there was one.

Elsewhere, there’s the lively Fakin’ to shake those hips along to, complete with jangling guitars; the pensive keyboard based Wander On to get romantic with, or the “ba ba ba”-strewn Californian rock of I Believe to really confirm that you like what you’re hearing.

Indeed, there’s not really a dud entry on this smooth, laidback collection of songs that’s another classic summer album to get hold of. You really won’t be disappointed and your life may even feel brighter for having it available for your stereo system.

Download picks: Automatic, Looking At The Sun, Since Last September, Fakin’, Wander On, I Believe

Track listing:

  1. Automatic
  2. Looking At The Sun
  3. Nothing I Can Do
  4. Since Last September
  5. Fakin’
  6. Wander On
  7. Shining Bright
  8. Automation
  9. I Believe
  10. Moving Slow