Follow Us on Twitter

Grammatics - Grammatics

Grammatics, Grammatics

Review by Hedley Jackson

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

GRAMMATICS’ self-titled debut album is a lively endeavour with a set of powerful, well-constructed songs. Their grandeur intentions have been fulfilled in songs that surge with a visceral power that’s tangible from the first to the last.

The opening track, Shadow Committee, runs from soft rhythmic vocal passages that are suddenly replaced by vibrant and heavy rock sounds. This song immediately demonstrates the band’s style of mixing styles and varying the structure of their songs; it’s easy to get lost in Grammatics’ music.

Owen Brinley’s light and smooth vocals throughout the album are incredibly strong and feed a very pleasant sound into the band’s music. His higher register provides a refreshing dimension to the rock music. This is epitomised in the song Cruel Tricks Of The Light, where a duet of vocal and guitar dance through a beautifully poetic song.

Murderer is a fantastic track on the album, sounding like an indie-pop song, it’s melodic chorus compliments Brinley’s angelic voice. Sounding a little like Bloc Party or Arcade Fire, the band’s versatility shines through on another challenging track, while their inclusion of a cello is testament to their ambition and creative drive. It also gives a voluptuous lustre to their music.

A dynamic British construction, the band clearly aim for a more fulfilled and well-constructed set of songs than the indie bands who are emerging now. They have set their sights higher and have reached their goals with a very intelligent and pleasing debut album. All of their songs are brewed with layer-upon-layer of sounds that compliment each other perfectly.

Grammatics can sound like Keane with their superb songwriting and vocal power but then immerse themselves in an entirely more powerful rock sound. Each song on the album has a great deal of character, with some making more of an impression than others.

On the whole, this is a great debut from a soon-to-be-everywhere band. It’s immediately clear that Grammatics know what they are doing and they are doing it very, very well.

Download Picks: Shadow Committee, Murderer, Polar Swelling, Rosa Flood, Cruel Tricks Of The Light

Track Listing:

  1. Shadow Committee
  2. D.I.L.E.M.M.A
  3. Murderer
  4. The Vague Archive
  5. Broken Wing
  6. Relentless Fours
  7. Inkjet Lakes
  8. Polar Swelling
  9. Rosa Flood
  10. Cruel Tricks Of The Light
  11. Swan Songs