Follow Us on Twitter

Grand Duchy - Petits Fours

Grand Duchy - Petit Fours

Review by Hedley Jackson

IndieLondon Rating: 3 out of 5

GRAND Duchy have a nice, fresh sound. An interesting handful of pop-folk-rock tracks, with some very creative lyrics and some bizarre twists and turns, make up Petits Fours

Songs vary wildly from the ’90s pop-esque Lovesick to the charming psychedelic folk creation of Fort Wayne; their debut album’s standout tune, with great harmonies and luscious layering throughout.

The duo make songs that sound nothing like one another. Scrappy guitars and electronic lasers join a heap of other sounds in inventive ways that constantly find new ways to please. Grand Duchy have a great, light sound.

Black Suit could have been a song made by The Killers, with fantastic synth and an enormous sound. Black Francis’ hoarse, shouted vocals provide a nice touch interlaced with Violet Clark’s lighter accompaniment.

The more upbeat The Long Song has a grinding bassline supporting guitar harmonics and ‘8os synth reminiscent of Blondie. Violet Clark struggles at points to maintain the song’s energy with her vocal, but the end result is pleasing nonetheless.

Neither of the pair are expert musicians, but they have compiled a decent set of songs with an entertaining edge. Their music can become repetitive and there are no songs that really grab the attention, but Grand Duchy clearly have a lot of ability.

Not mind-blowing, but a fun initial endeavour from the pair that is worth a listen. Grand Duchy’s various sounds will intrigue you if nothing else.

Download picks: Come On Over To My House, Lovesick, Fort Wayne, Black Suit, Ermeslide

Track Listing:

  1. Come On Over To My House
  2. Lovesick
  3. Fort Wayne
  4. Seeing Stars
  5. Black Suit
  6. The Long Song
  7. Break The Angels
  8. Ermeslide
  9. Volcano!