Follow Us on Twitter

Hanne Kolsto - Forever Maybe (Review)

Hanne Kolsto, Forever Maybe

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

HARD to believe but Forever Maybe is Hanne Kolsto’s fourth album in four years. It could also be one of her biggest.

Her last album, Stillness And Panic, managed to draw rave reviews in the international media, including The Guardian, The Sunday Times and Q magazine, and this follow-up looks destined to do the same given the way it combines euphoric synth-pop with something indie-tinged.

The album opens in strong fashion with Blanko, which unfurls amid an ethereal vocal and slow-building electronic arrangements, before dropping a moody beat around the minute mark and then really opening up amid synth flourishes and background harmonies a further 30 seconds later. It leaves an instantly striking impression.

We Don’t See Ourselves adopts industrial style beats early on before Kolsto’s vocals add a sweetness that ultimately ushers in some nice electronic melodies and a generally warm sound (think Imogen Heap), while Nothing To Talk About combines more ethereal vocals with indie-pop guitar work that again strikes an instantly likeable chord.

Better still, All Is Contagious is an effervescent slice of synth-pop that drips with easy-going melodies and harmonies from the outset, complete with toe-tapping drum loops, while True Story thrives on its effortlessly ear-pleasing synth-pop, albeit coated in bittersweet lyrics (another feature of this continually impressive album).

It ends well, too, with What Is This Meant to Mean combining the atmospherics with the melodic in engaging fashion, while an unnamed bonus track completes things in nicely indie-rock style.

Overall, then, Hanne Kalsto has delivered another great listen and the type of LP that looks destined to win her both more acclaim and fans from around the world.

Download picks: Blanko, We Don’t See Ourselves, All Is Contagious, True Story, What Is This Meant to Mean

Track listing:

  1. Blanko
  2. Synnecrosis
  3. We Don’t See Ourselves
  4. Nothing to Talk About
  5. The Urge to Repeat
  6. Forever Maybe
  7. All Is Contagious
  8. True Story
  9. Rooftop
  10. What Is This Meant to Mean