Follow Us on Twitter

I Am Ghost - Those We Leave Behind

I Am Ghost

Review by Hedley Jackson

IndieLondon Rating: 3 out of 5

DON’T Wake Up, the opening track to I Am Ghost’s latest album, Those We Leave Behind, builds with pumping power chords and ferocious drums to a huge chorus that’s impossible to ignore. They manage to create walls of sound with distortion and manic percussion while the vocal switches between pleasant singing to aggressive screaming.

The sound is stereotypical of a genre that loves making a lot of noise and have a fantastic way of doing so. Mad electric guitars that shred up and down the fretboard at lightning speed, a double bass pedal whirring and thumping and a very strong vocal make a great metal band and I Am Ghost tick all the boxes.

At times, especially when the chorus hits its peak, the band can sound like Lost Prophets or Fall Out Boy. The fantastic melody and vocal contribution giving the songs almost a pop vibe, but the screaming soon drags it straight back. This gives the band a fresh dimension as this sound is not usually present in metal bands.

The album is what you would expect; tales of fantasy, death and endless woe strung together with very skilful musical ability – although it is very easy to listen to an album like this and let it pass you by.

The songs are very similar and there is nothing really new here. Some songs really grab your attention but everything is expected from the moment you hit play.

The genre is enormous and this music will appeal to many many people, but I Am Ghost’s album is very plain. Songs climb up higher and higher with the vast sounds but eventually, at the end of the album, it falls down to nothing without ever thrilling.

Download Picks: Don’t Wake Up, Saddest Story Never Told

Track Listing:

  1. Intro: Dancing With Monsters
  2. Don’t Wake Up
  3. Those We Leave Behind
  4. Buried Way Too Shallow
  5. Bone Garden
  6. Saddest Story Never Told
  7. Smile Of A Jesus Freak
  8. So, I Guess This Is Goodbye
  9. Interlude: Remember This Face, Baby
  10. Burn The Bodies To The Ground
  11. Rock ’n’ Roll High School Murder
  12. Make Me Believe This Is Real
  13. They Always Come Back
  14. Set Me Fire