Follow Us on Twitter

Ida Maria - Fortress 'Round My Heart

Ida Maria, Fortress 'Round My Heart

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

IDA Maria Sivertsen is the Scandinavian sensation who made a really big name for herself when her infectious track I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked earned her a place in the hearts of just about every listener.

Her music demonstrates a keen ear for raw garage rock, hummable choruses and deliberately provocative lyrical themes and her debut album, Fortress ‘Round My Heart, is packed with firecracking examples of this.

In truth, I Like You So Much Better… is the standout moment, and her music seldom strays too far from that trademark. But there are surprises – moments when Maria reigns in the wilder touches in favour of quieter introspection.

Leave Me, Let Go, for instance, taps into a greater sense of vulnerability than is immediately apparent on tracks such as Oh My God and that famous song, a melancholy plea to a lover to let her go. It bleeds heartache, and is tenderly relayed.

Likewise, the stripped back acoustica of In The End, where Ida Maria once again underlines her credentials as a great balladeer, to match her skills as a feisty garage rocker.

She’s obviously at her best, though, when keeping things upbeat and lively. Songs like Morning Light tap into a Strokes-style punk rock sensibility, but also demonstrate an infections sense of fun evidenced by the chucklesome “ho ho ho”‘s she regularly throws into the mix.

While Queen of the World bear an uncanny similarity, vocally, to the likes of Lily Allen… a fact that ought to bring her equally widespread commercial appeal. The track itself is a hand-clap crazy ditty that really does charm its way into your musical sub-conscious.

And then there’s the hits… culminating in her signature tune, I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked, that really, really make this album well worth the listen… and the indie hype surrounding her seem entirely justified.

Download picks: Stella, Oh My God, I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked, Queen Of The World, Leave Me, Let Me Go, Louie

Track listing:

  1. Oh My God
  2. Morning Light
  3. Queen Of The World
  4. Stella
  5. Forgive Me
  6. Leave Me Let Me Go
  7. I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked
  8. Louie
  9. Drive Away My Heart
  10. Keep Me Warm
  11. In The End
  12. We’re All Going To Hell