Follow Us on Twitter

In Case Of Fire - Align The Planets

In Case of Fire, Align The Planets

Review by Hedley Jackson

IndieLondon Rating: 2.5 out of 5

IN CASE Of Fire are a larger than life three-piece from Northern Ireland. Their sound is immense, baring resemblance to bands like 30 Seconds to Mars, which is credit to well put together instrumentation and strong production.

The songs are fast-paced and driven with strong, unrelenting riffs. Heavy distortion throughout gives a deep, dark tone to the music, giving the band a sound distinct to this genre of music. Commanding vocals accompany the well-structured songs to create impressive rock music.

One of the best songs on the album is Align The Planets, which sounds more like System Of A Down than anything else. Great, energetic drums and yet another face-paced riff run throughout the song, filling it with life.

Parallels sounds like Jimmy Eat World, with a churning guitar that switches tone throughout and powerful, emotive vocals bursting out of nowhere. This helps to highlight the song writing ability of the band.

The album is good, with many strong parts and is well worth a listen for any fan of this modern sound of rock music. The band do well to get such a large sound out of only three people.

But the lack of any new sounds or flavour is disappointing too. It’s all been done before, this sound and this energy with so many layers, and this makes it hard to like on its own terms.

One stand-out part of the album is Plan A, which was co-written with Martin Luther King Jr. and contains a sample of his father’s ‘I have a dream’ speech. This gives the band more depth and hints at a more political, underlying message to their music.

Unfortunately, this is not as obvious as it should be and their lack of musical individuality is all that stands out.

Overall, I think Align The Planets is a decent album, packed with energy and aggressive rock music. But the band fails to leave a lasting impression as their music sounds like so many others.

Worth a listen for fans of the post-hardcore generation, but not for those who want to hear something new.

Download picks: Align The Planets, Parallels, Plan A

Track Listing:

  1. This Time We Stand
  2. The Cleansing
  3. Do What I Say
  4. Align The Planets
  5. Parallels
  6. Plan A
  7. Enemies
  8. Landslides
  9. Violence & Pictures
  10. And Sorrow
  11. A Pale New Costume
  12. Second Revelation