Follow Us on Twitter

In This Moment - The Dream (UK bonus tracks)

In This Moment, Dream

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

IN THIS Moment are notable for being fronted by Maria Brink, one of the most photographed women in rock music.

Musically, they have toured with the likes of Ozzy Osbourne, Megadeth, Rob Zombie and Lacuna Coil and already have the Beautiful Tragedy to their name.

New album The Dream is being described as a big step up for the band in that it seeks to attract the attention of a whole new fanbase.

With over 6.5 million Myspace plays to date and a growing army of fans, In This Moment are aiming to join the likes of Paramore in crossing over from critical success in the rock world, to the consciousness of the mainstream.

Alas, they’re still a little too one dimensional. The Paramore comparison is obvious, as is that to a band like Evanescence. But their music simply isn’t diverse enough to enable them to break out of the diehard fanbase that has so far helped them get this far.

Basically, In This Moment are all about stadium-filling heavy rock guitar riffs, and Brink’s powerhouse vocals – most of which sound yearning and pained for a great deal of the time.

Every song is delivered with so much earnest that they could do with brightening up a bit.

The Dream is actually a new version with three new tracks, including – most notably – a lively cover of Blondie’s Call Me that could well attract attention for a short space of time. It’s a half decent cover.

But Dying Star is far too weighty for its own good and quickly becomes tiresome off the back of a whole album of similar material, while Sailing Away does demonstrate some nice melody in the early guitar riffs but soon gives in to formula.

Rock fans may dig what they have to offer, especially if they have warmed to Brink’s often photographed charms.

But for me, this is a band that’s a little too rooted in one sound and a little too stuck in an ’80s rock moment – neither of which offers much appeal.

Download picks: Call Me

Track listing:

  1. Rabbit Hole
  2. Forever
  3. All For You
  4. Lost At Sea
  5. Mechanical Love
  6. Her Kiss
  7. Into The Light
  8. You Always Believed
  9. Great Divide, The
  10. Violet Skies
  11. Dream, The
  12. Call Me
  13. A Dying Star
  14. Sailing Away