Follow Us on Twitter

Ingrid Michaelson - Everybody

Ingrid Michaelson, Everybody

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

THE UK has been waiting for some time to hear Billboard cover star and US indie sensation Ingrid Michaelson – but her UK debut album Everybody is truly worth the wait!

The talented singer-songwriter is a self-made success story who fully deserves the praise and recognition she’s achieved.

Michaelson first broke through [on her own terms] when her 2007 album Girls and Boys sold over 400,000 copies on her label Cabin 24 Records.

Its success was prompted by the hit single The Way I Am, which was featured in a major Old Navy commercial campaign, and the song Keep Breathing which was used during the 2007 season finale of Grey’s Anatomy.

The public reaction was phenomenal; Michaelson and her lyrics became Google’s two most popular searches and The Way I Am went on to sell 1.5 million copies.

Her latest, Everybody is achieving similar success States-side and now looks set to repeat the trick in the UK.

It’s an utterly enthralling collection of indie-folk songs that bare comparison with the likes of Regina Spektor and company. Songs are full of sunshine melodies, lush vocal harmonies, intricate layering and often shimmering beauty.

Many are tailor-made for shows such as Grey’s Anatomy – but that doesn’t detract from the quality. Michaelson is a major talent.

Among the many fine moments on Everybody are album opener Soldier, which combines a tight chorus with quirk folk elements, title track Everybody, which weaves lush acoustics around one of the LP’s breeziest choruses, and Sort Of, which benefits from some twinkling piano arrangements and a tender hopefulness that’s enchanting.

But Michaelson has plenty in her arsenal. Songs like Incredible Love showcase a darker, edgier style that’s more reminiscent of a folksy Sia Furler, and come in stark contrast to the breezy optimism of Mountain And The Sea (a personal favourite).

Another favourite, Once Was Love, drops a more positive back-beat over some hammond organs and a punchy vocal melody, while forthcoming single Maybe draws the album to a supremely satisfying close in more traditional folk-rock style. It’s a useful showcase of Michaelson’s honey-dued vocals and her keen ear for a melody that enables you to depart the album in the highest of spirits.

Trust us, Michaelson is an artist you need to become acquainted with… and that’s everybody!

Download picks: Soldier, Everybody, Incredible Love, Mountain And The Sea, Once Was Love, Maybe

Track listing:

  1. Soldier
  2. Everybody
  3. Are We There Yet
  4. Sort Of
  5. Incredible Love
  6. The Chain
  7. Mountain & The Sea
  8. Men of Snow
  9. So Long
  10. Once Was Love
  11. Locked Up
  12. Maybe