Follow Us on Twitter

InMe - Caught, White Butterfly

InMe, Caught, White Butterfly

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2.5 out of 5

INME looked poised to make a big splash when their debut album Overgrown Eden hit the top 20 in 2003. But when their record label collapsed, they were forced to wait to find a new supporter.

This happened in 2005, when they were finally able to put out their critically-acclaimed sophomore effort, White Butterfly. Produced by Josh Abraham (of Limp Bizkit, Courtney Love and Korn fame), the album offered modern rock fans a scintillating mix of classic rock and slightly more darker brooding.

Boasting hit singles like 7 Weeks and Faster Than Chase, the album become a firm favourite with the likes of Kerrang and enabled them to complete 2005 with a sold-out gig at London’s Astoria on December 17.

This latest release Caught, White Butterfly was recorded that night and showcases the band in all their live glory – complete with crunching guitar riffs, pounding drums and fast, furious vocal delivery.

It’s a loud, occasionally angry effort packed with Goth-style wailing, Iron Maiden-inspired mighty guitar riffs and power singing that finds the band clearly having fun. It’s also hopelessly foul-mouthed, as lead singer Dave McPherson thanks people from the bottom of his “fucking” heart or announces song titles like Just A Glimpse

The crowd are clearly into it and you can almost imagine the mosh-pit coming alive with a sweaty mess of chanting supporters as they sing along, chant InMe’s name and roar their approval in between each song.

The recording itself feels raw and gritty, genuinely tapping into the energy of an InMe show. McPherson even states at one point: “Ok, you guys have proved to me that you’re absolutely fucking crazy. Now you’ve got to take it to the next level.”

With that in mind, the guitars are unleashed again and another almightly wail proceeds to catapult listeners into another fired up frenzy. Hard rock fans will probably lap it up.

As is so often the case with a lot of hard rock bands, their music actually can be judged better when they slow things down, as in Chamber, one of only a couple slow-builders that hint at a tender side to the band and a more expressive form of songwriting (along with crowd favourite Parting Gift and So You Know). During such moments, McPherson’s vocals even take on an Eddie Veder approach – husky, distinct and very powerful.

But while it’s hard to begrudge InMe their long overdue return to the limelight (which they have clearly embraced), the music itself does tend to crash about haphazardly and is only really best appreciated by the die-hard rock brigade.

There are moments when InMe hint at more to their armoury than merely crashing about – a guitar solo on Otherside is actually quite thrilling, while the aforementioned Parting Gift offers a nice respite that is clearly appreciated by the fans – but as rock efforts go, this is just about average and is a little too preoccupied with the really big numbers (like the riotous, metal-based Mosaic). In the final analysis, it’s one for the fans only.

Track listing:

  1. 7 Weeks
  2. Crushed Like Fruit
  3. Faster The Chase
  4. Just A Glimpse
  5. Otherside
  6. Chamber
  7. So You Know
  8. Neptune
  9. Safe In A Room
  10. You’ll Get There
  11. Underdose
  12. Lava Twilight
  13. Alaya
  14. White Butterfly
  15. Parting Gift
  16. Mosaic
  17. Firefly