Follow Us on Twitter

Innerpartysystem - Innerpartysystem


Review by Hedley Jackson

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

INDUSTRIALLY and electronically charged, this eponymous album offers a raw, surging set of songs.

Innerpartysystem provide a group of aggressive and exhilarating electro-rock tracks, where the fantastic melodies create an ideal platform for the passionate vocals of Patrick Nissley.

Don’t Stop is a powerful, dark and brooding surge of electronic creativity. With a punching punk chorus, the gaps are filled in with twisted, experimental samples and noises, giving the song a darker edge.

Sounding like a combination of The Killers, Bloc Party and Pendulum, their individuality is remarkable. Everyone Is The Same could pass for a club tune, while Die Tonight, Live Forever is heavy, riff-centred electro rock.

The band spew out small-town angst with vigour and passion, with tracks such as This Town Your Grave being a fine demonstration of such influence. The tirade of charged aggression is focused into making very impressive music.

This Empty Love is a toned down, gloomy song that highlights a competence in altering their sound. With a very heavier, Linkin Park-style, guitars chop away at the distorted and twisted electronic sounds.

Innerpartysystem is therefore a vibrant debut album that presents a band with creativity in abundance and a lot of potential.

Some songs fall short of being great stand-alone tunes, but others make up for it with their memorable quality. It’s a fantastic step in the right direction in the career of this young band.

Download Picks: Die Tonight, Live Forever, Don’t Stop, This Empty Love, Everyone Is The Same, New Poetry, This Town Your Grave, What We Will Never Know.

Track Listing:

  1. Die Tonight, Live Forever
  2. Heart Of Fire
  3. Don’t Stop
  4. Structure
  5. Everyone Is The Same
  6. Obsession
  7. This Empty Love
  8. New Poetry
  9. This Town Your Grave
  10. Last Night In Brooklyn
  11. What We Will Never Know
  12. Soundscape