Follow Us on Twitter

It's A Misery Business (Review)

It's A Misery Business

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3 out of 5

AND who says record companies don’t have a sense of humour? At that time of year when soppy love albums dominate the shelves, Rhino UK is putting out the anti-Valentine’s day compilation, It’s A Misery Business.

Featuring a hard rocking 19 tracks of loud and noisy rock, emo, punk and metal, the PR company claims the LP is “guaranteed to turn even the warmest of hearts black”!

And there’s some good stuff in there, too – although you really have to be a diehard heavy rock fan, and a no-hoper in love, to really get the best from it.

There are some headline names to entice you – and, admittedly, they deliver the best that the compilation has to offer. We’re talking Panic At The Disco’s I Write Sins Not Tragedies, featuring the memorable lyric: “What a beautiful wedding… what a shame the poor groom’s bride is a whore!”

Simple Plan’s emo anthem Your Love Is A Lie is filled with enough angst-laced vitriol, too – as well as a radio-friendly, sing-along appeal.

And Biffy Clyro crop up with their majestic epic Mountains, which deserves to win even more fans to their albums.

Sometimes, though, this particular compilation is just too loud, too ugly and just as much a turn off as a cheating girlfriend on Valentine’s night.

On this front, we have to single out the likes of Gallows’ punk rock riot that is Orchestra Of Wolves, Nickelback’s unpleasant Something In Your Mouth and Atreyu’s goth-like wail that is Doomsday… to name but a few.

It’s all very well being broken hearted, but you may as well have some ear drums left when the woman of your dreams does finally come to whisper something in your ear!

Download picks: Mountains, Misery Business, Dead Memories, I Write Sins Not Tragedies, Your Love Is A Lie


  1. Nickelback – Something In Your Mouth
  2. Paramore – Misery Business
  3. Slipknot – Dead Memories
  4. Atreyu – Doomsday
  5. Gallows – Orchestra Of Wolves
  6. Kill Hannah Lips – Like Morphine
  7. Elliot Minor – Jessica
  8. Panic At The Disco – I Write Sins Not Tragedies
  9. Cobra Starship – Guilty Pleasure
  10. Simple Plan – Your Love Is a Lie
  11. Madina Lake – Pandora
  12. Kids In Glass Houses – Girls
  13. Fighting With Wire – Everyone Needs A Nemesis
  14. Biffy Clyro – Mountains
  15. Billy Talent – Try Honesty
  16. A – Better Off With Him
  17. Jacks Mannequin – The Mixed Tape
  18. Cute Is What We Aim For – Loser
  19. Amanda Palmer – Leeds United