Follow Us on Twitter

Ivor Novello Awards 2010: Lily Allen wins three trophies

Lily Allen

Story by Jack Foley

LILY Allen has picked up three trophies at the Ivor Novello songwriting awards (2010), including songwriter of the year.

Her hit single, The Fear, has also been recognised for best song musically and lyrically, as well as most performed work.

In accepting her prizes, a tearful Allen said she was thrilled to be recognised for her songwriting, particularly as pre-ceremony she had joked to reporters outside that she regarded her songs as “nursery rhymes”.

Commenting on the inspiration behind The Fear, she added: “This song is so much about feeling so lost. It has made me feel quite found all of a sudden.”

It is not yet known whether the awards haul will force Allen to reconsider her decision to take a break for “a minimum of four or five years”, and the singer wouldn’t be drawn on the issue.

She had only this week confounded expectation by announcing she is to support Muse at their forthcoming September gig at Wembley Stadium, when previously it was thought her last live appearance would be supporting Jay-Z at this year’s Wireless Festival.

Further prizes for Nutini and Weller

Although the night belonged to Allen, there were other significant awards presented.

Scottish singer Paolo Nutini scooped the prize for best album, for his LP Sunny Side Up.

In presenting him with the trophy, Duran Duran singer Simon Le Bon said: “Paolo’s album is uplifting and very pure, and it makes you smile.”

Ethereal pop singer Natasha Khan – who performs under the name Bat For Lashes – won best contemporary single for Daniel and Frankie Goes to Hollywood producer Trevor Horn received a standing ovation as he picked up the outstanding contribution award.

Singer-songwriter Imogen Heap was awarded the prize for international achievement by Annie Lennox.

Paul Weller, who received his lifetime achievement award from former Oasis member Noel Gallagher, pledged to continue working for as long as he could, saying: “I’ve enjoyed the last 33 years I’ve been writing songs and hopefully, with God’s good grace, I’ll do some more.”

Sir Tim Rice was given the Academy Fellowship, Sir Peter Maxwell took the classical music award and Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr was given the inspiration award.

The lunchtime ceremony was held at Grosvenor House Hotel in central London on May 20, 2010.