Follow Us on Twitter

Ivor Novello Awards 2019: Arctic Monkeys and The 1975 among nominees

Arctic Monkeys

Story by Jack Foley

ARCTIC Monkeys (pictured), George Ezra, The 1975 and Ben Howard are among the nominees for this year’s coveted Ivor Novello Awards (2019).

They are joined by the liked of Jorja Smith, IDLES, Young Fathers and Let’s Eat Grandma.

The annual awards are designed to celebrate ‘the best in British and Irish song-writing’ over the past year in the world of music, film, TV and gaming.

This year’s nominations shortlist showcases the work of 48 individual songwriters and composers, with 70% of those listed being nominated for the first time.

Ivors chairman Crispin Hunt commented: “The works nominated for The Ivors 2019 are brilliantly diverse, and we’re delighted to see so many first-time nominees recognised.

“As the only peer-nominated music award in the country, they are a fantastic reflection of the exciting emerging talent of British & Irish music creators today. Our congratulations to all nominated.”

The winners will be announced at the Grosvenor House in London on Thursday, May 23.

The full list of nominees is…

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

Four Out Of Five, Arctic Monkeys
Nica Libres at Dusk, Ben Howard
Nina Cried Power, Hozier

Best Contemporary Song

Black Rose, Ghetts ft Kojey Radical
Blue Lights, Jorja Smith
Love It If We Made It, The 1975

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

Breathe, Jax Jones ft Ina Wroldsen
Shotgun, George Ezra
These Days, Rudimental ft Jess Glynne, Macklemore and Dan Caplen

Best Album

Cocoa Sugar, Young Fathers
I’m All Ears, Let’s Eat Grandma
Joy As An Act of Resistance, Idles

Best Original Film Score

American Animals, Anne Nikitin
Phantom Thread, Jonny Greenwood
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, Daniel Pemberton

Best TV Soundtrack

Flowers (Series 2), Arthur Sharpe
Happy New Year, Colin Burstead, Clint Mansell
Requiem, Natasha Khan and Dominik Scherrer

Best Original Video Game Score

Assassin’s Creed Odyssey, Michael Georgiades, Joe Henson and Alexis Smith
Q.U.B.E. 2, David Housden
Sea of Thieves, Robin Beanland