Follow Us on Twitter

Ivor Novello Awards recognise Arctic Monkeys and Winehouse (2007)

Arctic Monkeys

Story by Jack Foley

THERE’S just no stopping the Arctic Monkeys it seems… Sheffield’s favourite sons claimed the album award at this year’s Ivor Novello Awards (May 24, 2007).

Ironically, the award recognised their debut release, People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not and not their most recent release, Favourite Worst Nightmare.

The band joined an esteemed winners’ list that also included prizes for Amy Winehouse, Madonna, Peter Gabriel and Scissor Sisters.

The 52nd Ivor Novello Awards were held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London and are considered to be one of the most prestigious in British music. They’re organised by the British Academy of Composers and Songwriters.

Amy Winehouse won Best Contemporary Song for Rehab, while Scissor Sisters’ UK Number One single I Don’t Feel Like Dancin’ took the PRS prize for Most Performed Work.

Madonna won International Hit of the Year for Sorry and The Feeling were named Songwriters of the Year.

Sadly, the generally high quality of the awards couldn’t be maintained in the best selling UK single category, which went to X Factor winner Leona Lewis.

Although Scott Matthews restored respectability in the Best Song Musically and Lyrically for Elusive and music legend Peter Gabriel was deservedly recognised with the coveted Lifetime Achievement award.

The full list of winners is…

International Hit Of The Year: Madonna, Sorry

Album Award: Arctic Monkeys, Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not

Best Contemporary Song: Amy Winehouse, Rehab

Best Television Soundtrack: Martin Phipps, The Virgin Queen

Best Selling UK single: Leona Lewis, A Moment Like This

Outstanding Song Collection: Yusuf Islam

The Ivors Classical Music Award: John Rutter CBE

PRS Most Performed Work: Scissor Sisters, I Don’t Feel Like Dancin’

Best Original Film Score: John Powell, Ice Age: The Meltdown

PRS Outstanding Contribution to British Music: Norman Cook

Best Song Musically & Lyrically: Scott Matthews, Elusive

Songwriters Of The Year: The Feeling

Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter Gabriel

The Special International Award: Quincy Jones

The Academy Fellowship: George Fenton