Follow Us on Twitter

Jack Savoretti - Between The Minds

Jack Savoretti, Between The Minds

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3.5 out of 5

ANGLO-Italian singer songwriter Jack Savoretti didn’t pick up a guitar until he was 16. Moving around Europe as a child he wound up at an American school in Switzerland where he picked up an accent he describes as “transAtlantic mutt”.

The only thing that interested him was poetry. “I was writing all the time, it was the thing to do, sit under a tree with a notebook, go somewhere else in your head. I was in the clouds,” he recalls.

Then his mother gave him a guitar and suggested he try putting some of his words to music.

“I was surprised how much more people listen to you when you are singing than if you read a poem,” he admits. “After that, I couldn’t stop; it was constant writing, every day, it became almost a form of conversation, the way I interact with the world.”

Jack Savoretti’s debut single Without was the first release on De Angelis Records, the label set up by Natalie Imbruglia’s former manager Anne Barrett and the track went onto the Radio 2 B list.

The release of the second single Dreamers complete with a part-animated video directed by Ben Foley (nominated for 4 MTV awards on behalf of Collision Films) gave Jack a Radio 2 A List slot and received support from Radio 1’s Jo Whiley.

It also brought him to the attention of Corinne Bailey Rae who invited Jack to be her special guest on her European tour.

The release of his debut album therefore gives music fans to properly discover what this artist is all about. And it’s an encouraging introduction…

Lyrically strong and musically accomplished, Savoretti combines the passion and occasional melancholy intensity of Richard Ashcroft with the intelligence of artists such as Nick Drake and Damien Rice.

He may have some way to go before he can sit comfortably alongside such names – but the early evidence suggests there’s a place waiting.

Album opener Dreamers begins things with a welcome sense of familiarity and is a sensitive ballad that’s tailor-made to melt the hearts of the romantically inclined.

It’s followed by No One’s Aware, a soft acoustic ballad that paints a vivid picture, and then the aching Dr Frankenstein – both of which showcase his sensitive side (the whistling towards the end of No One’s Aware is particularly enchanting).

Fortunately, however, the album isn’t just about aching romanticism and displays a gritty, even angry side on tracks such as the emotive Soldier’s Eyes and the final track Killing Man.

The latter, in particular, features some excellent imagery among the lyrics and demonstrates a darker side to the artist that makes him all the more appealing.

There are the odd fillers among the songs but, for the most part, this is an excellent introduction that suggests big things lie in wait for Savoretti.

Track listing:

  1. Dreamers
  2. No One’s Aware
  3. Dr Frankenstein
  4. Once Upon A Street
  5. Without
  6. Black Rain
  7. Apologies
  8. Between The Minds
  9. Soldier’s Eyes
  10. Lovely Fool
  11. Chemical Courage
  12. Killing Man