Follow Us on Twitter

James announce The Gathering Sound UK tour (2013)

Tim Booth, lead singer of James

Story by Jack Foley

JAMES have announced plans for a new tour in April 2013, entitled The Gathering Sound.

The legendary Manchester band, who have released 12 albums and sold more than 20 million albums worldwide, will be performing songs from their extensive back catalogue.

The band have also now confirmed that Echo and the Bunnymen will be appearing as their very special guests. The two bands will be touring together for the first time.

Lead singer Tim Booth said: “It is with great pleasure that we announce our Gathering Sound April tour with the legendary Echo and the Bunnymen as our very special guests.

“We will be re-working old songs and revealing some new steps – expect the unexpected and prepare yourself for more passion than 50 shades of grey.”

The band are currently writing and working on new material together in Scotland.

Tickets go on sale on Friday, November 23 at 10am.

The UK tour dates are (all April 2013)…

13 – Glasgow SECC Hall
15 – Newcastle O2 Academy
16 – Sheffield O2 Academy
17 – Bristol Colston Hall
19 & 20 – London O2 Academy Brixton
22 – Bournemouth O2 Academy
23 – Leeds O2 Academy
25 – Birmingham O2 Academy
26 – Manchester Arena

The Gathering Sound tour is the first chance to see James performing in the UK since their Orchestra Of The Swan/Manchester Consort Choir tour in 2011.

The tour is also a chance to catch up with Echo and the Bunnymen who will be touring for the first time since their appearances reappraising their seminal first two Crocodiles and Heaven Up Here albums in 2010.

James’ first-ever boxed set entitled The Gathering Sound is due to be released in the UK on December 10, 2012.

The collection covers the band’s career to date and includes all 12 studio albums as a limited edition deluxe set featuring three CDs, a DVD, a 12” vinyl record and an 8GB USB stick.