Follow Us on Twitter

James Blunt - Chasing Time: The Bedlam Sessions

James Blunt, Chasing Time - The Bedlam Sessions

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 3 out of 5

OPINION on James Blunt is split into two distinct halves. There are those that can’t get enough of him, as opposed to those who think his surname aptly rhymes with something else.

Admittedly, the overwhelming success of You’re Beautiful is difficult to fathom but Blunt isn’t as bland as some people say, and the backlash against him isn’t deserved.

Hell, you don’t hear people deriding the likes of McFly or Will Young quite so vociferously.

Having turned his back on the criticisms, though, Blunt has duly emerged with the best-selling UK album of 2005 – in the form of Back To Bedlam – and a top 10 US success as well.

Now it’s time to really cash-in. A stadium tour has sold out and is being supported by the release of this DVD/CD package, Chasing Time – The Bedlam Sessions.

Basically, it’s a collection of concert footage (recorded at the BBC and in Ireland), as well videos and commentaries on the making of his biggest hits.

Disc 1 is the DVD featuring his BBC concert as well as videos of High, You’re Beautiful and Goodbye, My Lover, as well as an interview, photo gallery and ‘making of’ mini-documentaries.

While Disc 2 is the CD featuring all of his biggest hits recorded live in Ireland. Both concert sections demonstrate that Blunt is an accomplished live performer, capable of faithfully recreating his songs on-stage, while stripping some of them down to raw, acoustic form.

Cry, on CD2, is especially well-delivered, opening with Blunt’s aching vocals set against some low-key acoustic guitar and piano, while So Long, Jimmy features a good guitar solo from Ben Castle.

Admittedly, some of his over-played hits become a bit tiresome, such as Goodbye, My Lover – but their presence is sure to please Blunt’s legion of fans.

This is, after all, designed purely to please them, serving as both a recap of Back To Bedlam and an insight of what to expect from anyone who has booked to see him live.

Further highlights include the grittier Sugar Coated, which succeeds in showing there is more to Blunt than drippy ballads, and Billy another melodic record.

There are even two cover versions – the first of which is a forgettable version of Crowded House’s Fall At Your Feet and the second, an acoustic workout of The Pixies’ Where Is My Mind? which is delivered with gusto.

As a whole, this is a comprehensive package that offers something for every James Blunt fan out there. It won’t change the sceptics’ minds, but it will delight those it’s seeking to please.

Expect it to be similarly massive.

Track listing:
Disc: 1

  1. Wisemen
  2. High
  3. Cry
  4. Goodbye My Lover
  5. So Long Jimmy
  6. Sugar Coated
  7. You’re Beautiful
  8. Billy
  9. Fall At Your Feet
  10. Tears And Rain
  11. No Bravery
  12. Where Is My Mind

Disc: 2

  1. Billy
  2. High
  3. Wisemen
  4. Goodbye My Lover
  5. Tears And Rain
  6. Out Of My Mind
  7. So Long Jimmy
  8. You’re Beautiful
  9. Cry
  10. No Bravery
  11. Where Is My Mind
  12. High
  13. High
  14. Wisemen
  15. Wisemen
  16. You’re Beautiful
  17. You’re Beautiful
  18. High
  19. High
  20. Goodbye My Lover
  21. Goodbye My Lover
  22. Being Blunt
  23. Photo Gallery