Follow Us on Twitter

Jet - Shine On

Jet, Shine On

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 5 out of 5

JET’S follow-up to their multi-million selling debut album Get Born is evidence that the Australian rockers are growing up fast.

Lead single Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is may have suggested that the band hadn’t progressed much since the likes of Are You Gonna Be My Girl but it was something of a false indicator.

Shine On is a deeply impressive sophomore effort that marks a major step forward for them. If Get Born was a fast and furious guilty pleasure made for playing loud (with the odd majestic moment such as Look What You’ve Done), then Shine On is an all-encompassing beast.

It’s Jet’s (What’s The Story) Morning Glory – and there are times when it feels like the best record the Gallagher brothers never wrote.

For sure, it still wears its influences on its sleeve. But one suspects they’re a little more diverse.

Tracks like Shine On are purely driven by Lennon and McCartney, while Stand Up owes more to Robert Plant or Deep Purple.

There’s touches of Jagger’s Rolling Stones, too, in some of the cracking guitar riffs (think Streetfighting Man era), while Curtis Mayfield and Captain Beefheart get a look in also.

Whether playing it low-key or rocking their socks off, however, the album almost always hits the right notes and never outstays its welcome or sounds repetitive.

For every upbeat rock monster such as That’s All Lies, with its energetic punk rock boogie, there’s a shimmering slow-burner to sweep you off your feet, like the anthemic Bring It On Back, another Beatles/Oasis hybrid.

Most importantly, Nic and Chris Cester, along with Cam Muncey and Mark Wilson, appear to be having fun for this is an album that’s refreshingly devoid of pretension.

Further highlights include the piano-tinged charmer King’s Horses, the raw, gritty foot-shuffler that is Come On Come On (an old-school romp that Primal Scream would be proud of) and the hammond organ-led funkster that is Skin & Bones (that vocally hints at Tom Petty).

While Shiny Magazines is a ‘60s-influenced lament about the pitfalls of beauty and society’s obsession with it. The slide guitar interlude is pure class.

Album closer All You Have To Do cannily brings things to a close on the same note as it got things started (a clever touch that brings with it a welcome sense of coming full circle).

While title track Shine On is a breathtakingly touching paean to the Cester brothers’ late father, a stadium ready ballad and a poignant tribute that’s guaranteed to have fans reaching for the cigarette lighters.

As drummer Chris Cester notes of the long-player: “The first album was written for pubs. This one is written for stadiums.”

It’s destined to become a classic in every sense of the word and will easily slide in amongst the year’s best releases.

Track listing:

  1. L’Esprit D’Escalier
  2. Holiday
  3. Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is
  4. Bring It On Back
  5. That’s All Lies
  6. Kings Horses
  7. Shine On
  8. Come On Come On
  9. Stand Up
  10. Rip It Up
  11. Skin And Bones
  12. Shiny Magazine
  13. Eleanor
  14. All You Have To Do