Follow Us on Twitter

Josh Wink - Sessions

Josh Wink, Sessions

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 2 out of 5

THE fifth in Ministry of Sound’s acclaimed Sessions series has been delivered by Josh Wink and marks his first UK mix album.

Released on 2-CD digipack, the mix is pretty much what you’d expect from Wink – deep techno delivered at breakneck speed that occasionally mixes in some well-known cuts.

It’ll delight the purists, especially those who have danced away all night long in venues such as Ibiza, but the non-converted won’t find anything to interest them whatsoever.

Indeed, many of the tracks blend into one long blurred techno workout – all rapid beats, house-tinged electronics and repetitive loops.

There are highlights but they are too few and far between to really make the album worth owning – unless you’re a fan of the Ministry of Sound brand, of course!

For those that don’t know, Wink has been one of the world’s leading DJs and producers for over a decade.

Some of his best known productions – Higher State of Consciousness, Don’t Laugh, Evil Acid and Superfreak – remain in DJs’ boxes around the globe.

While albums include his acid house project 20 to 20 and mix albums, Profound Sounds volumes one and two.

He has also remixed the likes of Depeche Mode, Sting and Radiohead, as well as worked with The Roots and Trent Reznor (Nine Inch Nails).

While certainly a leading name in the techno and acid house genre, his most appealing work has come with his remixes of the likes of Radiohead. It therefore came as some relief to find his rare remix of Everything In It’s Right Place included in the selection here. It is a towering highlight.

Good, too, is the Matthew Johnson Eyes In The Circle of Life remix of Wink’s own Higher State of Consciousness, as well as The Orb’s Masterblaster.

But they’re not enough to prevent the double album from slipping into bland, boring mediocrity. It’s a long, long listen that delivers very few rewards for anyone except the most ardent techno enthusiast.

Track listing:
Disc: 1

  1. Corporal – Run Stop Restore
  2. Colorseries Blue B – Costello, Donnacha
  3. Rancho Relaxo – Schneider, Anja & Sebo K
  4. Back Four – Sten
  5. T2DAC – Hardfloor
  6. 7up – Quinn & Benny Rodriguez
  7. Summer Nights – Steve Bug
  8. Flotation Tank – D5
  9. Lines Of Nazca – Los Hermanos
  10. Everything In Its Right Place – Radiohead
  11. Don’t Stop The Beat – DJ Skull
  12. Higher State Of Consciousness – Wink
  13. Love Letter To The Enemy – Johnson, Matthew

Disc: 2

  1. Elusiv – DJ Yellow
  2. Nowhere – East Side Scientific
  3. Jacuzzi Games – Loco Dice
  4. Sucre – Tejada, John
  5. Love Technique – Vincent, Levon
  6. Soulful Spirit Of House – Hardfloor
  7. As Dry As I Can – Schneider, Guido
  8. Blackwater – Octave One
  9. Masterblaster – Orb
  10. Uncertain – Jasper
  11. Column Weave – DJ ESP
  12. ElektroFluxx – Subspace
  13. Dusk – Steevio
  14. Expanded – Mills, Jeff
  15. Swirl – Wink
  16. Perspective – Inkle, Richie
  17. Shadows – Murphy, Mateo