Follow Us on Twitter

Kaki King - Dreaming of Revenge

Kaki King, Dreaming of Revenge

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

FIRST of all let’s introduce Kaki King by using an admiring quote from Foo Fighters legend, Dave Grohl, who states: “There are guitarists who are good and some guitar players who are f**king good. And then there’s Kaki King.”

High praise indeed… but deserved. Kaki King is a truly beguiling artist and multi-talented. Dreaming of Revenge is her fourth album and arguably one of her finest.

Ruthlessly inventive with her acoustic guitar, achingly beautiful and joyously carefree, Kaki King seems to have a natural gift for crafting songs and melodies that connect with both the head and the heart.

Hence, the songs on Dreaming of Revenge enchant whether they’re delivered with vocals or without.

Bone Chaos In The Castle, for instance, is a real mesmeriser of a starting point, wrapping some vibrant guitar licks around a fizzing backbeat to create a genuinely cool performer. It’s a cracking instrumental.

Life Being What It Is then slows down the tempo, plays up the folksy acoustics and lays down some wonderfully lush vocals (almost whispered). You could argue that vocals aren’t Kaki King’s strongest selling point, but when set against those beautifully realised guitar chords, you won’t mind. It’s a real sunsetter of a song.

Sad American contains a haunted, almost ethereal quality that’s similarly striking (and instrumental), while former single Pull Me Out Alive is another highlight that thrives on an echoed, other-worldly chorus, some rocky guitars and layered, soothing vocals.

Further highlights come in the teasing slow-builder Montreal, which eventually revs up into a fine instrumental; the tender Saving Days In A Frozen Land, which is rife with vocal melodising; the cinematic Air And Kilometres and the soothing Can Anyone Who Has Heard This Music Really Be A Bad Person?

All in all, then, Kaki King has delivered a fine alternative guitar-based album that comfortably fits into the term “nu-gaze”. It’s lush, breezy, reflective and inspired… and places her firmly in the list of terrific guitarists as referenced by a certain Mr Grohl.

Download picks: Bone Chaos In The Castle, Life Being What It Is, Sad American, Pull Me Out Alive, Saving Days In A Frozen Head, Air And Kilometres.

Track listing:

  1. Bone Chaos In The Castle
  2. Life Being What It Is
  3. Sad American
  4. Pull Me Out Alive
  5. Montreal
  6. Open Mouth
  7. So Much For So Little
  8. Saving Days In A Frozen Head
  9. Air and Kilometers
  10. Can Anyone Who Has Heard This Music Really Be A Bad Person?
  11. 2 O’Clock
  12. Zeitgeist (bonus track)