Follow Us on Twitter

Kasbian and Jamie T dominate NME Awards 2015


Story by Jack Foley

KASABIAN (pictured) and Jamie T dominated the NME Awards 2015 with Austin, Texas picking up three awards apiece.

Kasabian were awarded two of the big awards of the night: Best British Band and Best Album. They also picked up Best Quote (see winners’ list below).

Jamie T was awarded Best Track and Best Video for Zombie along with Music Moment Of The Year, which was presented by Florence Welch, for his incredible comeback.

Other big winners included Suede, Jimmy Page, Royal Blood, Jake Bugg, Foo Fighters and Iggy Azalea and Charli XCX.

Royal Blood were awarded two awards – Best New Band and Best Live Band. They proved exactly why they were such deserving recipients when they opened the show with an electric performance of Figure It Out.

Charli XCX then picked up the Dancefloor Filler award for her collaboration with Iggy Azalea on Fancy, before going on to treat the crowd to a stunning performance of her current single Doing It.

Best Festival was once again awarded to Glastonbury while Jarvis Cocker presented Dean Blunt with the prestigious Philip Hall Radar Award, which recognises promising newcomers.

Jake Bugg fought off tough competition from Jack White, Jamie T, La Roux, Lana Del Rey and St Vincent to be crowned Best Solo Artist.

And Foo Fighters were presented Best International Band by Chrissie Hynde. They beat Arcade Fire, Haim, Interpol, Queens Of The Stone Age and Tame Impala.

There were also some very special accolades on the night. Frank Turner presented Teenage Cancer Trust with the Outstanding Contribution To Music Award and Jimmy Page was in attendance to receive the unique Rock‘n’Roll Soul Award , which was presented by Royal Blood.

And the evening came to a sensational end when Bernard Sumner took to the stage to present Suede with the prestigious Godlike Genius Award.

This was preceded by a very special video from Ricky Gervais (Suede’s first manager), before the band closed the night with an epic set of their greatest hits, which included Metal Mickey, Animal Nitrate and Trash.

Other winners on the night were Pulp who won Best Music Film; Manic Street Preachers who picked up Best Reissue for The Holy Bible; Northern Soul was awarded Best Film; Best TV Show went to Game Of Thrones; Hero Of The Year went to Alex Turner for the second year running; Small Festival Of The Year went to Liverpool Psych Fest and Book Of The Year went to Viv Albertine for Clothes, Clothes, Clothes.

Nigel Farage was awarded Villain Of The Year beating off Bono, David Cameron, Harry Styles, Russell Brand and Taylor Swift, while Worst Band was awarded to 5 Seconds Of Summer who beat the likes of One Direction, Bastille and U2 to the accolade.

Mike Williams, editor of NME, said: “It’s been an astounding year of comebacks and triumphs for Kasabian and Jamie T and their awards tonight prove it.

“The fans have spoken and along with newcomers Royal Blood they have been undoubtedly anointed as the biggest acts in the country right now. Most excitingly, none of the trio look set on slowing down any time soon!”

The full winners list

Godlike Genius Award

Rock‘n’Roll Soul Award
Jimmy Page

Best British Band supported by Marshall Amplification

Best International Band supported by Austin, Texas – The Live Music Capital Of The World
Foo Fighters

Outstanding Contribution to Music
Teenage Cancer Trust

Best Solo Artist supported by Pilot Frixion
Jake Bugg

Best New Band supported by REPLAY
Royal Blood

Best Live Band supported by Dead Crow Spirit Flavoured Beers
Royal Blood

Best Album
Kasabian –48:13

Best Track supported by Tito’s Handmade Vodka
Jamie T – Zombie

Best Video
Jamie T – Zombie

Best Festival

Philip Hall Radar Award
Dean Blunt

Best TV Show
Game Of Thrones

Best Film
Northern Soul

Best Music Film
Pulp: A Film About Life, Death And Supermarkets

Reissue Of The Year
Manic Street Preachers – The Holy Bible

Dancefloor Filler
Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX – Fancy

Worst Band
5 Seconds Of Summer

Villain Of The Year
Nigel Farage

Hero Of The Year
Alex Turner

Music Moment Of The Year
Jamie T’s comeback

Best Fan Community

Small Festival Of The Year
Liverpool Psych Fest

Book Of The Year
Viv Albertine – Clothes, Clothes, Clothes. Music, Music, Music. Boys, Boys, Boys.

Best Band Social Media
Liam Gallagher’s Twitter

Best Lyric
Happyness – “I’m wearing Win Butler’s hair/There’s a scalpless singer in a Montreal rock band somewhere.”

Best Quote
Kasabian – “Five records, ten years. We’ve earned our shot.” – Serge Pizzorno, (talking about Glasto headline slot)