Follow Us on Twitter

Keane announce new EP and forest tour (2010)


Story by Jack Foley

KEANE are pleased to announce details of a new eight-song EP and a tour of English forests in 2010.

The Night Train EP will be released on May 8, 2010, and will feature eight powerful new tracks that were written and recorded during the Perfect Symmetry. The EP takes its title from the band’s favoured mode of transport during the tour.

The EP includes Keane’s genre-busting collaborations with Somali/Canadian rapper K’Naan, Stop For A Minute and Looking Back.

Tom Chaplin commented: “I think those tracks show us in a completely different light.”

Other highlights include Ishin Denshin (You’ve Got To HelpYourself), which features Japanese MC Tigarah, as well as Your Love, which hangs around a rare lead vocal from the band’s Ivor Novello-winning songwriter Tim Rice-Oxley.

Due for release on CD and download, The Night Train EP will be available to pre-order through Keane’s award-winning official website, from Wednesday, December 2.

The band have also announced plans for a summer tour of forests in 2010, including a homecoming show at the Bedgebury Pinetum, just outside the band’s hometown of Battle, East Sussex.

The dates are as follows (all June 2010):

10 – Thetford Forest, Suffolk
11 – Bedgebury Pinetum, Kent
18 – Westonbirt Arboretum, Gloucestershire
19 – Sherwood Pines Forest, Nottinghamshire
25 – Dalby Forest, North Yorkshire
26 – Cannock Chase Forest, Staffordshire

Tickets for the shows will be available from 9am on Wednesday, December 2, through before going on general sale from Friday, December 4.