Follow Us on Twitter

Kevin Godley to perform with 10cc at Royal Albert Hall anniversary show


Story by Jack Foley

KEVIN Godley, a founder member of 10cc, will join the current line-up at 10cc’s landmark 40th anniversary show at the Royal Albert Hall on May 10, 2012.

The 2012 line-up of 10cc features fellow original member Graham Gouldman with Paul Burgess, Rick Fenn, Mick Wilson and Mike Stevens.

Commenting on the news, Graham said: “Kevin and I have stayed in touch over the years and we wrote and recorded some songs together a few years ago for the first time since those halcyon days back in Stockport, so it was natural to ask him to come and sing a few songs with us at the Albert Hall. To my mind Kevin was always the great unsung vocalist of the band. It should be an emotional night.”

Kevin himself commented: “Looking forward to jumping in the time machine and going back… or is it forward? Actually it’s both. 10cc was a peculiar chemical reaction, a joining of unlikely dots and an equation that didn’t make sense. Good job I was more into making noise than sense. Time to make less sense all over again. Now what should I wear..?”

10cc – Graham Gouldman, Eric Stewart, Kevin Godley and Lol Crème – was formed in Strawberry Studios in Stockport in 1972.

From their debut single Donna in ’72 to their final No 1 Dreadlock Holiday in ’78, 10cc ruled the airwaves in the 70s.

The original line-up of 10cc stayed together from ’72 to ’76 and released four albums 10cc (’73), Sheet Music (’74), The Original Soundtrack (’75) and “ow Dare You (’76) after which Godley and Crème departed to pursue their own path as a duo.

Gouldman and Stewart continued and 10cc released albums until 1983, before both pursued other projects before reconvening in the 90s for Meanwhile (’92) and Mirror Mirror (’95).

At the turn of the millennium encouraged by fans and friends Graham Gouldman put together a band and went out and played all those 10cc hits that everyone wanted to hear.

The previously announced 40th Anniversary 10cc tour is as follows:

April 2012:
30 – Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

1 – Gateshead The Sage
2 – Manchester Bridgewater Hall
3 – York Barbican
5 – Liverpool Philharmonic Hall
6 – Cardiff St David’s Hall
7 – Birmingham Symphony Hall
8 – Leicester De Monfort Hall
10 – London Royal Albert Hall