Follow Us on Twitter

Kick-Ass - OST

Kick-Ass OST

Review by Jack Foley

IndieLondon Rating: 4 out of 5

A KICK-Ass film needs a kick-ass soundtrack and that’s exactly what the soundtrack to Mattew Vaughn’s film provides!

Shot through with telling vocal interludes from the movie itself (that are guaranteed to make you smile), the album keeps up a tremendous energy throughout that’s both in keeping with the overall tone of the movie and which works as a great party LP into the bargain.

Standout moments include The Prodigy’s anthemic Stand Up, which drops rousing horns with kick-ass back-beats and serves as an anthem, of sorts, for the film’s main hero, and Primal Scream’s head-rush of a former single Can’t Go Back, which should have you screaming along with its loud, brash chorus.

A retro nod – and a clever cinematic homage to boot – comes in the form of Ennio Morricone’s timeless Per Qualche Dollaro in Piu from For A Few Dollars More, which still manages to exhilarate as only the best cinematic instrumentals do.

While there’s hip indie-pop from The Little Ones’ There’s A Pot Brewin’, with its snappy bassline groove, and contemporary chart-pop savviness courtesy of artist-of-the-moment Ellie Goulding and her radio-friendly former single Starry Eyed.

The Prodigy, meanwhile, get a second stab with the retro throwback offering Omen, which arrives at a point in the movie that demands high-energy back-beats to accompany its violent action set pieces.

Not every track is a classic… but somehow they all work when set against the headrush of excitement that the film itself provides – so maximum enjoyment depends on whether you’ve seen it, and can then replay the scenes to the songs that accompany them.

Otherwise, more average fare such as Mika Vs Redone’s Kick-Ass or The Pretty Reckless’ unashamedly dirty rocker Make Me Wanna Die may see you reaching for the skip button a little quicker.

But in the main, this is a hip soundtrack to accompany a hip film that has to rate as one of the finest cinematic achievements of the year.

Download picks: Stand Up, Can’t Go Back, There’s A Pot Brewin’, Omen, Per Qualche Dollaro in Piu, Banana Splits, Bad Reputation

Track listing:

  1. “I’m Kick-Ass”
  2. Stand Up – The Prodigy
  3. Kick Ass – Mika Vs Redone
#“I Never Said Batman”
  1. Can’t Go Back – Primal Scream
  2. There’s A Pot Brewin’ – The Little Ones
  3. “Bring It On!”
  4. Omen – The Prodigy
  5. “Butterfly Knife”
  6. Make Me Wanna Die – The Pretty Reckless
  7. “Mayor’s Office”
  8. Banana Splits – The Dickies
  9. Starry Eyed – Ellie Goulding
  10. This Town Ain’t Big Enough For Both Of Us – Sparks
  11. “Who Would Win In A Fight…?”
  12. We’re All In Love – New York Dolls
  13. Bongo Song – Zongamin
  14. “I Never Play”
  15. Per Qualche Dollaro In Piu (For A Few Dollars More) – Ennio Morricone
  16. “No Power, No Responsibility”
  17. Bad Reputation – The Hit Girls
  18. An American Trilogy – Elvis Presley
  19. “Show’s Over…”